An Afternoon Off

This week I’ve had a ‘down’ and an ‘up’.

I recently applied for my ‘dream job’ – and one for which I thought I had all the right experience and qualifications. The interviews were on Tuesday and I wasn’t even shortlisted. :(

But then, just as I was fishing down the side of the sofa for coins, a little tax rebate appeared in the post, from my former employer. (There is a God!) It’s not a fortune but it’ll keep the wolf from the door for a bit. :)

So, I decided today I deserved a little treat.

I was supposed to be meeting a couple of friends for a birthday lunch (*blushes* It’s on Sunday actually, but you can’t start the celebrations too early), but we had to postpone because one of them is poorly bad.

And then I remembered that another friend had told me I should KILL to get tickets for ‘One Man, Two Guv’nors’ – which she’d seen in Manchester last week but which is, coincidentally, now on in Birmingham (at The Rep, if you’re interested – until Saturday).

Today was the only chance I’d have to go, so I rang up at the last minute and managed to get two tickets for the matinee performance.

It was weird going to a matinee! Marching into a theatre at 2pm, in broad daylight (and coming out in the dark), with what seemed like a million OAPs and schoolchildren. I can’t remember the last time I went to a matinee. It was probably Cinderella when I was seven. I kept saying to my chap, ‘Why aren’t all these people at work?’ (Yes, yes, I know. Pot-kettle-black and all that). I think I had a little taste of what it would be like to be retired – with money. Very nice too.

The play is based on the Commedia D’ell arte and is an English version of a classic Italian comedy, ‘The Servant of Two Masters’, by Carlo Goldoni. It’s very ‘Shakespearean’ – with twins and disguises and misunderstandings BUT don’t let that put you off! Playwright Richard Bean’s aim was “to write a populist, accessible comedy” and “to break the idea that theatre is boring and stuffy and only for people who behaved well at school.”

And he’s certainly done that. It stars James Corden (of ‘Gavin & Stacey’ fame) and it was hilarious! In fact, I felt quite exhausted by the end, from laughing so much!

And as laughing has been scientifically proven to be good for you, I don’t feel guilty at all.

PS: Don’t forget to enter my Autumn mini saga competition! The closing date is 31st October and I haven’t had many entries so far…!

This entry was posted in West Midlands and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to An Afternoon Off

  1. That sounds like fun – glad you managed a good laugh even though some things aren’t going your way.

    I’ve started on my competition entry. So far I’ve got quite a saga – all I need to do now is make it mini!

  2. Keith Havers says:

    You reminded me, Helen. Just sent my entry off.

  3. Happy Birthday for Sunday!

    • thanks Sally – I’ve had/am having a lovely time! Just back from ‘The Jurassic Coast’ – ooh, how exciting that sounds. Actually ‘just’ Lyme Regis, but we did struggle down The Cobb (in the wind!) and I felt very ‘French Lieutenant’s Woman’!!

  4. Cath Barton says:

    I’m going to enter…

  5. Alice says:

    Happy Birthday Helen! Strangely enough it’s my birthday today too!! I had my party last night though and saw my godson in the day time so yesterday felt more ‘birthday-ish’ than today! Hope you’ve had a lovely day.
    Alice

    • Ooh, fancy that! It’s always exciting when you ‘meet’ someone with the same birthday, isn’t it?! It doesn’t happen very often, after all. Sounds like you had a great time – a party! But I did too – without a party – we went down to Devon for the weekend. I expect I will be writing about it soon on here…! Happy birthday to us!

  6. Alice says:

    I know! Devon sounds lovely. I was regretting having a party just beforehand as I was running late and stressing about whether people would show up, what the buffet food would be like (we hired a room in a pub) etc. But I soon got into it after a couple of glasses of wine and thanks to a good chef and loyal friends, I had a fab time!

Leave a Reply

