Win Some Books For Christmas!

To launch my new Blog (yes, this!) I’m running a competition!

Just leave a comment anywhere on the site (it doesn’t even have to be full of praise but, in the words of Big Brother’s Davina McCall, “please, do not swear!”) any time from now until midnight, UK-time on 15th December 2010 and you will be entered into my free prize draw to win a bundle of brand new books* about writing. It would be really useful for me to know how you found my site – but it’s not a compulsory part of your comment!

The competition is open to anyone but only one entry per person and please no ‘anonymous’ comments – you can’t win if I don’t know who you are!

The winner will be drawn at my Christmas party on 16th December by my ‘impartial’ friend Sue who a) doesn’t write and b) doesn’t drink! (aagh – poor Sue!)

If you’re in the UK, I’ll aim to have the books with you in time for Christmas but if you’re overseas, please bear with me as it will take a little longer.  

*The books are:  

**just published, this one is definitely on my Christmas list AND there’s another competition inside this book to win a literary lunch!

So, what are you waiting for…? I look forward to reading your comments!

This entry was posted in Competitions. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Win Some Books For Christmas!

  1. Rachel Green says:

    Good luck with the blog. You can never have enough writer’s blogs. Books too, actually.

    Rachel Green
    @leatherdykeuk

  2. D.J. Kirkby says:

    Ooooh how exciting! I blog about writing too. I found out about your blog through the WriteInvite advert. Please put my name in the draw. I’ve added a link to your blog on the sidebar of mine so I can pop over for a catch up on your posts from time to time.

  3. Hi,
    I found your blog through a WriteInvite email. I’m always up for reading more writing blogs…a wonderful displacement from actually doing any writing ho ho.

    Hmmm…free books? We-e-ll there’s no such thing as a free lunch…but if you really insist, it would be churlish of me to refuse.

  4. I’ve enjoyed visiting your blog. Very informative. I found it through the Write Invite website. Good Luck with your new blog.

  5. Jane Wenham-Jones says:

    ooh thank you for including WAWWHO! 🙂 Found you cos I got a socialmention alert! And am very pleased I did
    janex

  6. Amy says:

    Great site – have checked out and bookmarked a few links already. Could get lost in cyberspace for hours following everything up… Thanks.

  7. Anya Cates says:

    Hi Helen,
    Really enjoyed reading your blog, especially the info about magazine stories. I latched onto it via WriteInvite. Good luck with the new venture!
    Anya

  8. Tim says:

    I cast my covetous eyes upon the books. Anything to improve my skill and my motivation is always extremely welcome.
    I got an invitation to comment and take part in the comp from WriteInvite. So here I am.
    I will be adding this site to my list of favourites.

  9. Maree Butterworth says:

    Hiya!!! Good luck with the blog. I found out from WriteInvite. I’m an aussie in London studying musical theatre. I was a newspaper journo back home but currently just blogging occassionally on bugbitten.com and also trying to get on with a travel novel in my spare time!

    Best wishes
    Maree

  10. Niamh Simms says:

    I am entering on behalf of my daughter who is an avid reader and budding writer. I found your link whilst looking for the results of a writing competition she entered in Edinburgh (Green Pencil award). Unfortunately she was not successful this time round but perhaps your free books might help her in next year’s competition!

    Niamh (proud Mum)

  11. Ness says:

    Hi
    I had a link from writeinvite too! Enjoying reading your blog. Like the tips you picked up from Stella! Best of luck.

  12. Derek Baker says:

    Very interesting site,but how about some information on how to understand Haiku!
    Prefer to watch Ireland V Argentina than do Haiku homework.!!

    • Derek
      Sorry to hear you’re struggling with the Haiku! They can be a bit tricky. but maybe you could write one about Rugby…?!
      Thanks for looking at the blog. You are now, of course, in the draw for the books!
      Helen

  13. Marian Dwyer says:

    Hi
    I would love to be in the draw for these books – I feel I need all the help I can get!
    Feeling to unsure to go out and to know what to buy to make a start so please put my name in!
    Thank you

  14. Marian
    Consider it done! And thanks for coming back to the Blog!
    Helen

  15. Pingback: Novel-writing Starter Kit with Martin Davies « Sally Jenkins – Writer

Leave a Reply

