Competition Prizes – Disappointment

😦 It’s dark and it’s cold and it’s time for me to have a little moan…

Back in August 2010, I came third in an on-line short story competition, run by a British chick-lit writer. I was thrilled to be placed in a competition that had attracted a fair number of entries and which had been judged by some writers that I really admire. It was great to see my story printed on her blog and I looked forward to receiving my prize: a signed copy of one of her books and £25 of book vouchers.

Nothing came. I waited and waited.

2 (polite and evenly-spaced) reminder emails later, I have, today, received the paperback, duly signed by the author, with an apology for the fact that it has taken so long (five months).

And there was no mention of the £25 book tokens. Am I supposed to just forget about those? Sigh. Another (perhaps not quite so polite) email beckons….

It’s taken the shine off my prize. Maybe it’s me, but I think, if you run a competition – and enjoy all the publicity and attention that it attracts – then the least you can do is ensure the winners get their prizes.

Which is what I have been trying to do, with my competition – the one I ran before Christmas. But, it’s proving difficult! I still have the books! And not because I decided not to award them after all, but, rather disappointingly, because I can’t contact the winner, Tim Pope!

If I haven’t heard from Tim by 31st January 2011 (and if you know him, could you give him a nudge, please?) then I will be re-drawing the prize! So, all of you who ‘qualified’ by leaving a comment on the blog before 15th December, one of you could still get your clutches on those books! Watch this space….

This entry was posted in Competitions, Short Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Competition Prizes – Disappointment

  1. eddie walsh says:

    That is sad to have to wait so long for a prize. I run regular flash fiction comps on my website and I put results and critiques on as soon as I can and cheques are sent out within 30 days of closing dates. For instance, my airport comp closed on february 28, 2011 and just two days later a critique of all 48 entries was on my website and I announced the 12 shortlisted entries which go forward for final judging.

    • Eddie
      Thanks for your commiserations! I am still waiting for the book tokens! (no reply to my emails to the writer concerned). I am seriously thinking of ‘naming and shaming’ her!!

Leave a Reply

