Poetry News And NaPoWriMo

Hello – I’m back!

I’ve been ski-ing for a week in France. Yes, that was the ‘mystery’ behind my last post. Not very exciting, I know but it felt wrong, somehow, to announce to ‘cyberspace’ that my house was going to be empty for a week! I’m sure that’s the kind of thing they warn you about in Neighbourhood Watch! (Or do other bloggers just say ‘I’m going on holiday’?!)

I’ll tell you more about my trip – and the great books I read – in another post (but, ahem, let me just say, if you remember Eddie the Eagle, that’s about my ski-ing style!).

I came home to another rejection from Take A Break (what’s new!?) and an email telling me I was runner-up in the Stratford Literary Festival’s Poetry competition, which is pleasing but it still galls slightly that I have to buy a copy of the book with the winning poems in it! I am (I think) getting some book tokens as my prize, so I suppose I’ll just have to use them to buy the book! I did mention the competition in this blog – and the fact that winners didn’t get a copy of the book – so I knew what I was letting myself in for! Let’s just hope the book tokens turn up. I’m still waiting for £25 of tokens from a short story competition in which I came third in August 2010!

I’ve also come across ‘NaPoWriMo’ (and yes, it was inspired by NaNoWriMo!) the idea behind which is to write a poem every day in April. Yes, it started on 1st April but it’s not too late to join in, if you fancy a go AND if you decide to publish your poems on your website or blog you can get some publicity for it too.

Wikipedia describes NaPoWriMo as follows: National Poetry Writing Month (also known as NaPoWriMo) is a creative writing project held annually in April in which participants attempt to write a poem each day for one month. NaPoWriMo coincides with the National Poetry Month in the United States of America and Canada.

So, if that’s whetted your appetite and you’d like to write some poetry in April, have a look at the site here.

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Poetry News And NaPoWriMo

  1. Congratulations on the poetry success! Poetry’s not my thing but I admire anyone who can do it.

  2. Congratulations. Are you sure you’re not getting a copy? I was ‘especially commended’ and they’ve said they’ll send me a copy.

  3. Patsy – this is what my ‘winning email’ said (no mention of getting a free copy of the book! But I’d be very happy to be wrong!):
    Thank you very much for entering the 2011 Stratford Literary Festival Poetry Competition. Your poem has been chosen as a RUNNER-UP and will appear in the 2011 Festival Poetry Competition book, ‘My Home’, which will be available from 26th April from The Shakespeare Bookshop in Henley Street, Stratford, priced £7.99.

Leave a Reply

