Versatile Blogger Award

My writing buddy Sally has nominated me for a ‘Versatile Blogger’ award! Hurrah!

I have to now list 7 things about myself and then pass the award on to 7 more blogs! Eek – who will I choose? Have to think about that one.

But in the meantime, here are 7 things about me, that you might not already know:

1. I was Warwick Poet Laureate in 2006/7

2. I’m currently house-hunting with my chap/partner/male personage. After 6 years of bag-packing and dashing around, I’m hoping one of the (many!) benefits of our ‘joint residence’ will be more time for writing!

3. I’ve written a bi-monthly diary for a competition magazine for 6 years. Back in the days of plentiful slogan competitions, I did quite well (because, I suppose, they’re like little poems). I even won a car!

4. Two of my ‘guilty pleasures’ are: Mateus Rose and the Daily Express crossword on Mondays (anyone know the State Capital of New Jersey…?)

5. I aim to go swimming 10 times a month (but I usually fail)

6. In another life I’d come back as a traffic police officer (in an unmarked car), catching speeding motorists and people on their mobiles!

7. My first published story appeared in Bella in 1993 when I was runner-up in their short story competition. I won a murder mystery weekend, an all-expenses-paid lunch with the Bella team, writer Simon Brett and the other winners at ‘Rules’ (which my cabbie told me was one of the best restaurants in London – and it’s also, I’ve just seen from the website, the oldest), plus I got paid £150 for my story when it was published.

Wow – those were the days, eh? I thought I’d ‘cracked it’ but of course, the very next story I sent to Bella was turned down (although I did eventually get another one accepted!). But I really wish I’d written and submitted more then, as the womag short story market was definitely more buoyant in those golden days!

This entry was posted in Short Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Versatile Blogger Award

  1. Winning a car is fantastic, Helen! I never believed that real people won prizes like that – I’ll have to get entering some more competitions!

  2. Congratulations on your award!

    I can remember when I thought I’d cracked the short story writing business (2005 for me). That seems a long time ago.

  3. Congrats!

    I have *ahem* a couple of awards that I still haven’t posted. I’m a baaaaad blogger. 😀

  4. Susan Jones says:

    Hi Helen,
    I enjoyed reading your list of seven. I recently discovered Simon Brett, so funny and completely bonkers. So lovely. Must have been a fun lunch.

Leave a Reply

