I’m Back!

La Manga, Spain

I’m back from my hols. A little bit browner and a whole lot poorer! Ah well, I had a nice time (bit of a shock to come back to soggy old England, though. What was that rain on Sunday? I thought it was time to start building the Ark).

Thank you for your good wishes, Patsy and Susan (ooh, I had a little taste of how Womagwriter feels! Whenever she goes on holiday millions of people leave comments wishing her well! Ah, to be so loved – and missed!).

While I was away – and in between bashing a tennis ball or two – I read ‘Case Histories’ which I loved (and yes, I know it’s on the tele’ at the moment, but I’m going to read all 4 books in the Jackson Brodie series before I allow myself to watch the filmed versions), then Maggie O’Farrell’s ‘The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox’ which I found in the apartment. Beautifully written but a bit depressing, I have to say. Not really a great holiday read…!

And finally, I have almost finished ‘Black Swan Green’ by David Mitchell, which did not disappoint (I have decided that DM is one of my favourite writers). It was sweet and funny and very nostalgic, if, like me, you can remember being at school in 1982!

On the writing front, things have not been going too well. I’ve had lots of rejections (from Freelance Market News, The Weekly News and WWFS); I wasn’t placed in the Bristol Short Story or the Wenlock Poetry Festival competitions and even Warwick Words didn’t want my poem for their Book Project! (eek – how embarrassing, as I am a former Poet Laureate for Warwick and I bet all my fellow PLs are in there! But I did send them a bit of a weird poem, so serves me right).

However, there is good news! And I need your help to turn it into even better news… I have been shortlisted (one of 6) in the A.Vogel Herbal Remedies weekly bedtime short story competition – there’s still time to enter if you are interested – and the stories are on their Facebook page, looking for votes! So, if you are ‘registered with’ Facebook (or whatever the term is!) and can spare five minutes to have a quick look and, (only if you think it’s worth it, of course!), cast your vote for my story, which is ‘Bye Bye Baby’ (Story E), I would be most grateful! So far I have TWO votes – and one of them is mine! 😦

This entry was posted in Books, Competitions, Short Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I’m Back!

  1. Brilliant news about the Vogel comp. – I entered that but obviously sank without a trace!
    Don’t bother watching Case Histories on TV – the stories are too complicated to transfer into 2 hours of TV & the scottish accents can be a bit hard to understand (or I’m getting old!)

  2. Susan Jones says:

    Hi Helen,
    Welcome home. Glad you got some reading in. I’ve created a new blog, will add you to my bloglist. It’s here.
    http://www.susanjanejones.wordpress.com
    Good luck in the competition. I’m not on facebook, but I’m on Twitter if we can vote on there?

  3. Welcome back – glad you had a good time.
    You have more than two votes now.

  4. Derek Baker says:

    I would always vote for you.although I have been very quiet I have been avidly reading you blogs etc.you seem to be doing very well.you have my vote if I can work out Facebook!

    • Derek – thank you for your kind words! It’s nice to know there are some other people ‘lurking’ out there reading the blog even if they don’t comment (I know – there isn’t time is there? I read blogs and don’t always comment too!). Don’t worry too much if you can’t work out Facebook (I’ve only just joined myself!). Hope all is well with you and you’re still painting – and writing, of course!

Leave a Reply

