“It’s Never Too Late to Be What You Might Have Been…”

George Eliot

I love that quote (by George Eliot, by the way, who was born in Arbury, North Warwickshire, just a few miles from where I live). I think it gives us all hope!

A few weeks ago I was talking to a friend of mine from the tennis club. She’s a bright lady who loves all kinds of sport but, for various reasons, she left school without any qualifications. We got onto the subject of writing. “I’d have loved to have been a newspaper sports reporter,” she told me, with more than a tinge of regret in her voice.

Last week, our local free paper popped through my letter box. On the back pages I spotted a big plea to readers: “Send us your match reports: football, rugby, tennis, swimming …. We want to know about local teams!” I’ve given her the cutting. Next time we have a tennis match, we’re going to take some photos, she’s going to write a report and we’re going to send it in.

So, if you’ve got a writing dream – don’t give up on it! It’s never too late to be what you might have been….

(and don’t forget my mini saga competition! 100 words – closing date 26th July)

This entry was posted in West Midlands. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “It’s Never Too Late to Be What You Might Have Been…”

  1. Hi Helen,
    I’m keeping my fingers crossed for your friend. You’re the Mary Poppins of writer’s world. Good for you for spotting it. Maybe it’s fate.

  2. Never give up – persistence pays!

  3. taureanw says:

    Great post, and so very true!

  4. wightrabbit says:

    I retired early from my ‘proper’ job five years ago, intending to top up my small pension by writing – my passion for as long as I can remember. So far I’ve achieved very little and earned even less! As I will 59 in two weeks time, I was beginning to wonder if I should abandon my dreams and concentrate on being a grandmother instead. So this post, and the quote from George Elliot (I was born in a hospital named after her, in Nuneaton), is just what I needed to read. So thanks for that!

    • Jackie – George Eliot hospital is just a junction along the M6 from me! My godson was born there 11 years ago and I remember tripping into the maternity ward with a big blue balloon to see him for the first time! As for your writing – don’t give up!! You could be just about to turn the corner! I’m glad you found the post inspiring. Helen

Leave a Reply

