Saturday Night Musings…

It’s Saturday night and there’s nothing on the tele’! Why is that? We went to see the new Harry Potter film yesterday – we should have gone tonight instead! We’re going to see it again (in 3D this time) on Monday! Yes, a bit mad (and sad) but ‘him indoors’ is a BIG Harry Potter fan and it is his birthday on Monday, so I can’t really say no…!

I am debating whether to spend £7 on sending 3 poems to the Mslexia poetry competition (closing date 18th July – ie: Monday) but you can send by email and pay by Paypal, so I’m not reliant on the post. I usually enter it but I’ve never had any success!

I had some good news today: I won the Write Invite competition last week (it’s only the second time I’ve ever won), so I’ll soon be £50 richer! Very satisfying and a nice surprise to win!

And finally… there’s still time to enter my Mini Saga, 100 word story competition! Closing date is 26th July. I’ve had about 20 entries so far, but I’m expecting a last minute rush! More details are here. And if you want some inspiration, why not have a look here at the 100-word stories that won the recent Reader’s Digest competition (the first prize was a massive £5000! Wow!).

This entry was posted in Competitions, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Saturday Night Musings…

  1. Congratulations on the Write Invite win, Helen! I think you should re-invest part of those winnings in the Mslexia comp. – it would be quite a prestigous thing to win.

  2. Emma says:

    If you have 3 poems to enter then I think you should do so Helen! Good Luck

  3. Stephanie Holliday says:

    Well done. Write-invite gave me some nice comments about my story (Flickups) even though I’d felt I’d made a bit of a mess of it – the deadline unnerved me.
    I’ll have another go sometime if I remember. It often gets to about six before I do and its too late by then.

    • Stephanie – if you register with Write-invite, they will send you a text to remind you that the writing competition is about to start! I have forgotten about it too a couple of times and it’s really annoying, isn’t it?!

  4. Heather says:

    Congratulations on winning the competition. I really liked your story.

    I have spent my £7 and entered the Mslexia poetry competition. I’ve never had any luck either over the years but we keep on trying, don’t we?!

  5. Stephanie Holliday says:

    Thanks for doing the blog.
    I’m sitting in our motorhome in the middle of a wet and rainy campsite on a canal in Lancashire so it’s nice to get a bit of the real world here in your blog.
    It’s a good opportunity though to do some writing (no excuses of anything else to do) so I’m putting some finishing touches to a half written article about a motorhoming Christmas we had in Spain a few years ago. It’s amazing how getting in to the memories recreates the feelings of the experience and I remember more to write about each time I revisit the article.
    I go through phases of spending money on competitions. I always wonder if I go for the big ones (like I assume Mslexia is) if I’m up against a lot of really good people and will be way out of my league. It would be good to know which ones don’t get too many entries.

  6. Alice says:

    Oooh what was the Deathly Hallows part 2 like? I’m a big HP fan but am holding off seeing the film for a little while…
    Congratulations on your win and yes, I say go for it regarding the Mslexia competition 🙂
    Alice

  7. Hi Helen,
    Congratulations on your win. Good luck with Mslexia. They like unusual poems that tell a story rather than rhyme. I’m sure you’re in with a good chance. Keep us informed.

  8. Mel H says:

    Congrats on the Write Invite win – I haven’t been able to enter for ages and I miss it – gets the old adrenaline going!!

Leave a Reply

