Best Short Story Competition – Updated 16th Sept 2011

Image: Paul / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I took the day off today (well, a girl can only spend so much time glued to the computer!) and visited a friend who lives near Stratford-upon-Avon.

We did at least talk about writing – amongst all the other gossip – and while we were walking back from our lunch (picking up conkers on the way! It’s not just me, is it – isn’t 6th September a bit early for conkers?), I popped into a newsagents and got the latest copy of Best magazine.

Good news! Best has finally (it was supposed to be in last week’s issue), printed the entry form for their short story competition, which has an amazing first prize of £1000.

So, assuming you’ve all been following my advice and collecting the tokens printed in the magazine over the past few weeks (you need 4), dash out and buy your copy and get that story written and posted off by 4th October 2011.

16th Sept: I have a couple of spare Bella short story competition tokens, if anyone’s short of 2 (you need 4 altogether). As long as you’re subscribed to my blog, then I’ll happily send them out to the first person who asks for them.

I was expecting a long list of rules and regulations for this competition but there are hardly any! The story needs to be ‘up to 1000 words’ and you have to agree to hand over copyright of the story and to have an interview with Best – which will appear in the magazine – if you are the winner.
And that’s about it! Nothing to say you can’t have been published before, which is good news – but, strangely, in their ‘blurb’, they make it sound as though it’s aimed at new writers (“ever dreamt of seeing your words in print? Well now’s your chance…”)
Ah well, good luck to everyone that enters!

This entry was posted in Competitions, Magazines, Short Stories and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Best Short Story Competition – Updated 16th Sept 2011

  1. Thanks for the reminder. I’ve got my tokens & my entry form – now I’ve just got to dream up a wonderful idea!

  2. Stephanie Holliday says:

    Thanks. I’d forgotten about it so will have to get some tokens somehow.

  3. Keith Havers says:

    Just get this week’s issue, Stephanie. It has 4 tokens plus the entry form. That’s all you need.

    • Keith, Stephanie – sorry to be the bearer of bad tidings, but it looks to me as though that’s just the 4 spaces for you to attach your tokens – not the tokens themselves (underneath the entry form, page 23). Helen

  4. Stephanie Holliday says:

    Thanks Keith

  5. Stephanie Holliday says:

    Oh well – back to plan A

  6. Keith Havers says:

    Oops!
    Sorry – I didn’t read it properly. Good job I held on to my original 4. If all else fails, Stephanie, go on my blog – ‘Dream it, then do it’ – and e-mail me your address. I’ve also kept the extra tokens so I have 4 spares.

  7. Stephanie Holliday says:

    Than. Just checking with some friends but I’ll probably have to take you up on that.
    Steph

  8. wightrabbit says:

    HI! I’m new to all this and I’ve followed your advice and collected all of the tokens. But, reading the terms and conditions published this week, I have a query and I wondered if anyone could help? When it says ‘All copyright is owned by Hearst Magazines UK’, does that refer to copyright on all entries, or just on the one that wins? Thanks!

  9. Good question, Wightrabbit. It’s really not clear, is it? I can’t believe they’d expect to have copyright over all the entries, but then again, it’s not unheard of. I’ll ask them the question on their Facebook page and see if I get an answer…!

  10. Kath Cavanagh (Writing as kate Hogan) says:

    Hi All – I’m not expecting a yes to this question but thought I’d post anyway. Has anyone out there got a spare entry form for the Best short story competition? I’ve got one but my niece has collected all the tokens but has forgotten to pick up the Issue 36 with the form in. I’ve tried all the shops with out any luck and I’m now currently stalking the local doctor’s and dentist’s surgeries in the hope that I can find one for her! Anyone have any ideas? I have emailed Best but have not yet received a reply. Thanks. Kath

  11. Kath Cavanagh (Writing as kate Hogan) says:

    Hi All – I’m not expecting a yes to this question but thought I’d post anyway. Has anyone out there got a spare entry form for the Best short story competition? I have one but my niece who has collected all the tokens also has forgotten to pick up the Issue 36 with the form in. I’ve tried all the shops without any luck and I’m now currently stalking the local doctor and dentist’s surgeries in the hope that I can find one for her! Anyone have any ideas? I have emailed Best but have not yet received a reply. Thanks. Kath

    • Hi Kath and good luck in trying to find an entry form for your niece. I’m afraid I don’t have a spare – and in my experience, Best are not great at replying to emails or messages on Facebook, but I hope they come back to you and perhaps let you buy the copy of the magazine that has the form in?
      Helen

    • amanda says:

      Hi, yes I have one! email your address and I’ll gladly send it to you!

      I on the other had can’t find where to send my entry! can any one tell me the right address please?

      Thanks!
      Amanda

      • Kath Cavanagh (Writing as Kate Hogan) says:

        Hi Amanda – only just picked up your post. Many, many thanks for the offer but I think it is probably a bit late now. The Best short story competition deadline is this Tuesday, I think. I’m still a little bit concerned about the copyright issue anyway – did anyone find an answer to whether it was just the winning entry or all entrants?
        I imagine the address to send your submission to is:
        Best Magazine Fiction Competition
        Best Hearst Magazines UK
        72 Broadwick Street
        London W1F 9EP

        Thanks again for the offer and good luck with your entry

Leave a Reply

