New Year Writing Resolutions

So, what are your New Year Writing Resolutions? Let me know!

One of mine is to STOP writing for free! (Or nearly-free! And no, I’m not including my blog in that!).

Last week I sent an idea for an article to a wedding magazine and got an immediate reply. They liked it but ‘they didn’t have a budget’. Would I consider writing it just for the ‘by-line’ (ie: a credit)? Er, no, thank you very much. I might have done that a few years ago but no more! I’ll be sending that idea to another magazine, until I find one that will pay me! If you want to read more on this subject, see Alex Gazzola’s excellent article here.

My second NYWR is to be more focussed! I am not writing any more short stories until the end of March (*Aaagh! Bites hand* I’m feeling withdrawal symptoms already!) because I have a little project that I’m going to be working on. More of that as and when I have something to report…!

But if you haven’t given up short stories, here’s a competition that free to enter and you might win a 10 day writing holiday at The Writers’ Lab in Skyros, Greece. Which looks fanastic, by the way! The competition is featured in the Feb 2012 issue of Writing Magazine – page 23, if you want more details.

How To Enter:

Write a ‘Happiness’ short story (maximum of 1000 words) and send your entry to: Writing Magazine Skyros Competition, Warners Group Publications, Fifth Floor, 31 – 32 Park Row, Leeds, LS1 5JD or email: laurenr@warnersgroup.co.uk

Closing date is 1st March 2012. The final winner will be announced on 23rd April 2012. Code: WJC0031 (which I assume you have to quote with your entry).

There are no other details given (eg: whether you can put your name on your story or just on the email) but ‘terms and conditions of the competition are available on request from Skyros holidays’. Oh but they do state that if you want to opt out of any advertising emails from Skyros Holidays, you should state this clearly on your email!

Good Luck!

This entry was posted in Blogging, Competitions, Short Stories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to New Year Writing Resolutions

  1. Prue says:

    Good for you to hang out for money! You’re worth it.
    Why should businesses get something for free which has cost you your time, effort and creativity?

    My writing resolutions:
    To re-read my novel prior to continuing with revision. (Completed).
    Then carry on revising it (sounds like a comedy…and could well be!).
    Finish revising my novella set in West Scotland.
    Keep a record of books I read.
    Join a walking group. (Walking keeps my mind alert).

  2. Be a bit more focussed probably should be one of mine …

  3. Good luck with your goals, and thanks for the links. 🙂

  4. Julia says:

    I won a writing competition in my local paper, the prize for which was the chance to write a regular column for the Saturday edition – but no payment. I was happy enough with this for various reasons (which I won’t go into here), but did check with the editor that I would retain copyright in all my submissions. He said no! This has subsequently been resolved, and the words remain mine. But really: what a liberty!

  5. Stephanie Holliday says:

    My resolutions just come down to ‘write more’.
    As I’m very new to this I’m going to try to experience many different forms of writing e.g. short stories, articles for all sorts of mags, letters to mags where there are prizes to be had, competitions and anything else I can think of.
    I’m also going to follow up on stuff I’ve sent out months ago and not heard anything about. Yours said they liked an article and may (just may) print it so I’m going to follow this up and a couple of others who liked my stuff but didn’t print it.
    I hope by the end of the year to have some results.
    I was amazed in 2011 to have two articles printed in a travel mag and to be a runner up in three Cazart comps so I’ve got two more articles nearly ready to go.
    Thanks for the ‘Happiness’ comp. Sounds like it might be an uplifting story to write – and I do like free comps!
    Thanks again for your blog and ‘Magazine Madness’ – very inspirational.

    • Thanks Stephanie – good luck to you with your writing for this year and, talking of Magazine Madness, I haven’t forgotten the final ‘instalment’! December Magazine Madness will be my next post..!

      ________________________________

  6. Maggie May says:

    Never put off until tomorrow what you can do today. This has stood me in good stead in practical terms. Now I need to apply it to my writing.

  7. womagwriter says:

    My resolutions are on my blog – short stories for a while, then get going with a second novel. I do find stating exactly what I want to achieve helps me focus. In one of my online writing groups we fill in a post every week, with our aims for the week. Can’t say I always achieve them but I try!

    • That sounds like a good idea, Kath – writing down your goals for the week and making them ‘public’ to your group, at least. Well done on finishing your first novel and starting the second! You are an inspiration to me!!

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

