Busy, Busy…!

I’m a busy bee at the moment (in fact, so busy, I forgot to give this post a title when I first ‘published it’).

1. I’ve started work as a poetry tutor for the Writers Bureau.
2. I’m now gainfully employed, on a part-time basis, by the local university, to help on a project which involves writing and web research.
3. My 3 adult education creative writing classes for Solihull College are all starting up again this week.
4. AND on Thursday night I’m giving a talk to the WI. Eeeek! (That’s a big EEEK because I haven’t even thought about that yet).

I’m finally earning my living completely from writing (or writing-related activity). Ahem, which may sound good but, believe me, it’s still a pittance and about half of what I used to earn. But never mind, at least I am no longer in a ‘hell-hole’ (which was the affectionate name I had for the last office I worked in).

So, before I dash off to class number three tonight, there’s just time to tell you about a couple of West Midlands’ based events and opportunities for writers. (Sorry if these aren’t relevant to you but I have to look after the locals!)

Room 204 is a brand new Writer Development Programme run by Writing West Midlands and aimed at emerging writers living or working in the West Midlands who are looking for career development. It will support 15 -20 writers per year and each will be offered at least a year of support, including meetings and planning sessions in the first year, with follow up contact in subsequent years.

The programme is free (yes, FREE!) and requires only a time commitment of approximately 3 days/6 half days per year.

Have a look here for more information. The deadline for applications is 5pm on 20th February 2012. It’s a great opportunity to get some extra help and support with your writing, if you’re really serious about wanting to make a go of it! What are you waiting for…?!

Writing Workshops, Herbert Gallery and Museum, Coventry.

Wonderful writer and poet Roz Goddard (who, coincidentally, was my tutor when I took part in a similar programme to Room 204 a few years ago), is running a series of informal and stimulating writing workshops at the Herbert Gallery and Museum in Coventry, on the theme of place and the first one is this Saturday, 14th Jan, from 1.30-3.30pm.

(from the blurb): “We will touch on different forms of poetry and journal writing, and there will be an opportunity to share work over a sumptuous afternoon tea on Saturday 25 February and hear Roz’s own response to the George Shaw: I woz ere exhibition.”

Workshops are open to beginners, more experienced writers and those who simply want to have a go.
Cost: £8 single workshop or £20 for all workshops. Additional workshops are available to attend on Saturday 28 January & Saturday 11 February. See here for more details and to book your place.

Sounds good! I might try to get to one, although I reckon this Saturday is out as I’ll be in serious need of a rest by then!

This entry was posted in Events, West Midlands and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Busy, Busy…!

  1. Hi Helen,
    Glad you’re buzzing, and great news about Writer’s Bureau. Keep up the good work, and thanks for the links.

  2. Good luck with the new job. I’m exhausting just reading about all the things you are doing!

  3. Well done for managing to make writing pay! Thanks very much for the heads up about Room 204 – I’ve emailed them for an application form.

  4. Gosh yes, you certainly are busy! (btw, saw your 60 worder in RP – very good!)

  5. Kath says:

    Wow! Well done, Helen. I hope it all goes really well. You’re an inspiration. All good wishes Kath

  6. Stephanie Holliday says:

    Good news Helen. It will be great earning money again. I’m sure you’ll enjoy the variety and interest. Hope you’ll have time to ‘talk’ to us still.

  7. Prue says:

    Congratulations on your new job (and all the others!) and for making writing pay. That’s good news 🙂

  8. Keith Havers says:

    Just managed to get hold of a copy of Real People (free with Best) and saw your 60 word story. Congratulations.
    Also noticed that Best had a fiction page. Does anyone know if they are open to submissions?

    • Keith As far as I know, Best are still not open to submissions but they may be re-introducing their fiction pages permanently (the editor told me – as a result of the short story competition, which had such a good response), so if and when that happens, I assume they will be looking for submissions. I can only think that, at the moment, they are commissioning stories. I have asked if I’m going to get any payment for my runner-up story, which they printed, but so far, not heard anything – so that’s probably a no then! Hmmmph!

      ________________________________

  9. Alice says:

    Congratulations! It all sounds wonderful!

  10. gailaldwin says:

    What a marvellous position to be in – just one question – how long did it take to get where you are?

    • Gail
      thank you. It doesn’t feel all that marvellous, I must admit and I’ve had a few months of wondering where the next £1 is going to come from but now I’ve got a couple more ‘settled’ (albeit temporary and part-time) jobs, I’m feeling a bit more secure. And to answer your question – a long time!!

Leave a Reply

