Enter The Dragon!

Maggie – quite rightly – pointed out today that my snowman header was looking a bit ‘Christmassy’ and to prove that I do take notice of comments, I’ve changed it.

This one is quite ‘arty’ and funky, I think – don’t you? It also represents, very nicely, my brain at the moment. CONFUSED! (It came courtsey of Free Web Headers and I’m supposed to link to them so here’s the link to the website if you want to have a look for yourself).

Reason for my confusion: my partner’s house has now sold (hurrah) and he had to move out last week. He’s now renting a strange (big) house, that we keep getting lost in (we need walkie-talkies, honestly). I am now living half the time in his rental house and half the time in mine, so there’s stuff everywhere and I’m not quite sure if I’m coming or going.

And yes, I know, before you say it, why didn’t he just move into my place? Well, it’s small (tiny) and, as we’re both at home most of the time, I think he thought we’d kill each other!

Last night, after opening some of the boxes and finding lots of broken cups and glasses (aagh! has he never heard of bubble wrap..?), we tried to cook something in the ‘Rayburn’ thing (a bit like an Aga but not as good) and we couldn’t get the oven to go higher than ‘simmer’. After 1.5 hours, the beef wellingtons were still soggy – and they were only supposed to take half an hour to cook. We were so hungry by then (10.30pm!) that we just ate them anyway, on our laps, while watching the end of ‘Birdsong’ (very good, I thought. I like the book though too).

Anyway, it’s Chinese New Year today and the year of the dragon is the most auspicious in the Chinese calendar. Babies born in this year are supposed to bring luck to the whole family and they’re expecting a baby boom in China and other Asian countries (read about it here), as couples ‘race’ to have a baby born in the year of the dragon.

[Here comes the ‘writing’ bit…!] I wrote a short story once on a similar theme (but it was based on an article about Chinese women who didn’t want to have a baby born in the year of the sheep!. It came third in one of Writers Forum’s competitions and won me £100). I find Chinese astrology really interesting. Have a look here to see what sign you are – and what they all mean. I’m a rabbit (“rabbits are usually kind and sweet and of course, popular people.” I’m not going to argue with that). Perhaps you’ll be inspired too.

This entry was posted in Short Stories and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Enter The Dragon!

  1. Michaela Eyley says:

    Interesting reading, did you go to any celebrations or are you just making use of the 3 for 2 offers at Sainsbury’s, Tescos and the like? By the way, I am a monkey which is a bit of a mixed bag, I understand. Why is the year of the sheep so unpopular?

    • I think it was more about people wanting their children to be born in the year of the horse (strong and brave), which came directly after the year of the sheep. ‘Sheep’, according to the article I read, were thought to bring misfortune with them. But if anyone’s reading this and is a sheep, don’t be upset! Sheep are also kind, gentle and compassionate!

      ________________________________

  2. moslevin says:

    Thank you for that link, I think!. I got as far as.. The Rat…. ‘ mean, narrow minded and suburban’ and then I stopped reading. I had always thought that we were charming, eccentric, and generous!

    • Oh, boo! That’s not right. I have found this, much more ‘favourable’ one: “In China, the Rat is respected and considered a courageous, enterprising person. It is deemed an honor to be born in the Year of the Rat and it is considered a privilege to be associated with a Rat. Rats know exactly where to find solutions and can take care of themselves and others without problems. They use their instinctive sense of observation to help others in times of need and are among the most fit of all the Animal signs to survive most any situation.” There – is that better?!

      • Prue says:

        Sounds much more like a rat. Clever animals and good at learning. They are survivors and while I don’t much care for that bare tail, they have rather sweet little paws and bright eyes.

  3. moslevin says:

    *sighs happily…..thanks very much. ps. and they will believe anything!

  4. babs says:

    Hi
    I`m a tiger but I haven`t done much tigering at the moment.
    I`m stuck in front of the computer opening emails and anything and
    everything instead of writing

  5. Linda says:

    Hi

    I was born a monkey too – but I don’t know what that says about me. I remember reading your story in Writer’s Forum – I was fascinated by it – just goes to show that all that random info never goes to waste.

    Linda

  6. JohnY says:

    I do like sheep (But thats another story ! ) and Rabits are cute but get Mixamytoesys that
    makes them jump about a lot so all in all I am happy to be a Rat.
    In this early part of The Dragon,s year my noted observance is to the fore and i am
    gladly learning many new things in this different literary World.. Thanks Helen

  7. Maggie May says:

    That’s better and much more colourful! I’m a pig, oh dear. But sincerity, purity, tolerance and honour? Ok, I can go with that.

    • Maggie, pigs are lovely! Think of Piglet and Babe and the feisty ‘Tamworth Two’! They are also reckoned to be as intelligent as dogs, bless ’em (she says, reaching for a bacon sandwich…! Whoops).

Leave a Reply

