Moving In With David Beckham….

Ooh, ooh – we have just exchanged contracts on our house, which means it’s all legally binding, so THERE’S NO GOING BACK!

Does that sound like I’m having second thoughts? Well – a little – having discovered THAT (on the left) yesterday, when I opened one of his cupboards. *cue scary music with screeching violins*

Soooo, the ‘partner’ that I thought was fairly normal, clearly has OCD. Why was this not declared at the solicitor’s last week, when we signed the joint contract for the house? Although, as David Beckham apparently has it, perhaps I can forgive him. It’s trendy. But honestly – talk about Harpic Seven!

But no, I haven’t really got cold feet. It’s exciting! I am moving to the Cotswolds! Which, according to the site I’ve just linked to there, is ‘about the size of Tokyo’ (eh?!). Of course, at this stage, I can’t tell you exactly where in the Cotswolds, in case I jinx it or attract stalkers (!) but suffice to say, two of my friends are soooo excited because it’s near the-Mecca-that-is-Daylesford (Organic farm and shops).

I’ve never been but apparently it’s fantastic – even if you can only afford to browse (that’ll be me) or ‘celeb-spot’. They’re already planning their weekend visits and it’s definitely not because they want to see me – it’s to buy stuff.

I am now on the look-out for a writers’ group to join. Anyone know of any they can recommend in or around Chipping Campden/Moreton-in-Marsh? I have found ‘West Oxfordshire Writers’ (WOW! Good name), which looks promising. I particularly like the fact that there’s – currently – no membership fee!

I have also, to my delight, discovered two literary festivals that are taking place near to my new home, SOON! Chipping Norton’s (first ever!) and Chipping Camden’s – 20th – 22nd April and 1 – 6th May respectively. It’s a sign!

‘What has all this got to do with me?’ I hear you wail. I know, I know. Some of you live in the Outer Hebrides or even Australia (hello, Diane) and are therefore millions of miles from literary festivals in the Cotswolds. So I feel it’s my duty to attend as many of these events as I can, on your behalf and report back on my findings. It’s a tough job, and all that.

And when I was perusing the Chipping Norton Festival website, I came across a ‘Crime Flash Fiction’ writing competition – see here for more details. They want a crime story in no more than 150 words (but you can write less) and the first prize is 2 weekend passes to Crimefest 2012.

You’ve only got until midnight on April 15th if you want to enter (there’s no fee, by the way, as far as I can tell), so sharpen your pencils and start thinking murderous thoughts!

This entry was posted in Competitions, Events, Men, Moving House and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Moving In With David Beckham….

  1. Missing you already, you’re a Midlander, he should have come to you, never mind, you’ll have a clean toilet that’s for sure, and everyone sounds welcoming. Good luck with it all. Thanks for the links.

    • Susan
      Actually he’s a Northerner – ie: a SCOT! So the Cotswolds was kind of a compromise, as it’s not an area that either of us are from! (sorry, that’s terrible English, but you know what I mean!)

  2. Lucy says:

    Good choice- I have not long moved to Cirencester and love the Cotswolds. I would be very pleased if my other half even knew what Harpic was- there are definitely worse OCD afflictions! Good luck with the move.

    • Lucy, this is true. He does know what it is – he just doesn’t know what he’s supposed to do with it. Bless. It’s a bit like me with books. If I buy one, I feel like it’s almost as good as having actually read it!

  3. With a cupboard stocked like that I assume he’ll be in charge of cleaning and you can sit back and relax!

  4. Congratulations and good luck! 🙂

    xx

  5. Clare Banks says:

    Welcome to the Cotswolds. I’m in Cheltenham – also home to a big literary festival. Love your blog. I have it on my top sites.

  6. Thank you Clare! I’m not quite there yet (in the Cotswolds, I mean) but hopefully by next month, we’ll have moved in. I used to live in Cheltenham when I was little – a long, long time ago! And yes, it’s a great literary festival there too. Need to add that to my list..!

Leave a Reply

