Happy Easter – what are you reading?

I hope the weather’s a bit better where you are. Here, it’s cold and gloomy. Yuck.

I was browsing the internet this morning, as you do and I came across some interesting ‘5 minute interviews’ on the BBC website.

The latest is with former Poet Laureate Andrew Motion (he of the lovely voice).

It’s worth a listen/watch – as is the interview with children’s writer and former Children’s Laureate, Jacqueline Wilson. Who needs to go to a literary festival when great writers like these are available at the touch of a button?

Have you got yourself a good book to read over Easter? I seem to have a ‘Sophie’ theme. I’ve just finished Sophie Hannah’s latest psycho-thriller, ‘Kind of Cruel’ and I’m just about to start Sophie Kinsella’s latest chick-lit romp, ‘I’ve Got Your Number’ – which I got for the bargain prize of £8 in Asda (hardback!).

The jury’s still out on Sophie Hannah, as far as I’m concerned. There’s no doubt she’s a very clever writer and her novels are gripping but they always leave me feeling vaguely dissatisfied. They’re a bit too convoluted and contrived and while I like the main police characters (Charlie and Simon), the other characters in her novels always feel very ‘unreal’ to me – like they’re just carrying the plot. She also shoves in a lot of her research (in this case, hypnosis and psychotherapy) which just makes my brain ache.

I’m hoping the new Sophie Kinsella will be a bit of a lighter read!

This entry was posted in Books, Novels, Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Happy Easter – what are you reading?

  1. juliathorley says:

    I’ve just read ‘Dark Matter’ by Michelle Paver. Spooky, or what! I don’t usually read ghost stories, but this was recommended to me and it’s really creepy.

  2. JohnY says:

    Halfway through ; The Ode Less Travelled by Stephen Fry.

    Thankyou Helen for suggesting this excellent guide to my preferential style(s) of Poetry,

  3. Alison D. says:

    Reading “Her Fearful Symmetry” by Audrey Niffenegger right now and I just finished “The Year of Magical Thinking” by Joan Didion, which was AMAZING!

  4. At the moment I’m reading Vanessa Gebbies Words From A Glass Bubble collection of short stories, which is very interesting 🙂

    Xx

  5. Patricia Maw says:

    I was a great fan of Sophie Hannah but have now given up. I don’t like the switch to present tense and, like you say, there is to much research. She was due to speak at our ‘Sleuths Week’ in Brixham but not enough people bought tickets so it’s been cancelled! I read two books on holiday in Feb. ‘Missing’ a first novel by Jane Casey who I heard speak last year. I really enjoyed it as I mostly read crime. The other was ‘Complicit’ by Nikki French, one of my favourite authors. We are lucky to have a best-selling author in our Writers Group – Kate Furnivall – her latest ‘The White Pearl is selling extremely well.

Leave a Reply

