Cotswolds Calling

Here I am – at last! Sorry I’ve been away so long but you know what it’s like, when you move house. Chaos.

It was pouring with rain on moving day BUT the moment we arrived at our house, the sun came out. A sign? I hope so!
This is a picture of the village I’m in! Anyone like to hazard a guess as to where it is….?!

And, so far, so good. We’ve had a few ‘teething problems’ which I won’t bore you with (the previous owner took something she wasn’t supposed to – the GRATE for the fire, for a start) but on the whole, everything’s fine and dandy. And who cares if we’ve still got 13 boxes to unpack in the kitchen? There’s something strangely comforting about walls of cardboard.

Good news on the ‘Random Flash Fiction Competition’ front: I’ve had over 30 entries and there’s still 2 days left until the ‘closing date’ – midnight on 9th May – so what are you waiting for? Give it a go! Although there’s only one prize, I will be short-listing 5 entries and giving feedback on the blog, so you might get a mention, even if you don’t win.

May got off to a good start. I’ve got a photo in this week’s Real People magazine and a recipe in Take A Break’s My Favourite Recipes and I’ve won a short story competition – namely, this one, on the Short Story Radio website.

The story’s not on there yet – it’s got to be ‘cast’ and recorded and then uploaded – and I’m going to be interviewed and have an ‘author podcast’, which should be fun! Eeek!

I’m collecting Diamond Jubilee poetry/writing competitions for a post in a few days, so if you come across any, let me know, won’t you?

This entry was posted in Competitions, Cotswolds, Moving House, Poetry, Short Stories, Successes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Cotswolds Calling

  1. I don’t know the village but it looks lovely – hope you’ll be very happy there.

    Congrats for the comp and magazine publications.

    • Thanks Patsy! Congrats to you – if I haven’t already said it – on your novel publication. Life’s been a whirl for you just lately! Good for you.

      ________________________________

  2. Glad you got there safely, is it chipping norton? Or Sudbury, Moreton or Stow on the Wold? Forgive me if they are nowhere near the Cotswolds… Congratulations on the acceptances, you’re on a bit of a roll.

  3. cathaber1 says:

    Congratulations, especially on the Short Story Radio win – I didn’t know there was such a thing! No idea where your village is, but it looks idyllic!

  4. Catherine Robinson says:

    Well done on winning that competition – brilliant!!! And The Cotswolds looks beee-yootiful, lucky you! Don’t bother unpacking all the boxes. Do what we did – shove ’em in a the garage and forget about them for ten years!!!

  5. Jenny Francis says:

    Your new home looks so pretty, you are lucky. I dont know about Diamond Jubilee comps. But our very small writing group(8 active members, some mot so active) have written , put logo`s on and laminated approx 250 bits of writing to put around the village of Titchfield in Hampshire some are going into gardens and shops , the church and every where else we can hang them over the four days. I wonder how many other writing groups have got involved in things. How about the village where you now live are they doing anything for the Jubilee? Sorry prattling on. Congratulations on winning that comp and getting letters/recipe/photographs in magazines.
    Jenny

  6. Clare Banks says:

    Welcome to Gloucestershire, Helen. It looks like Blockley. All the best getting settled in. Congrats on all your recent successes.

  7. Clare Banks says:

    I’m in Cheltenham. And I’m very happy for you to track me down. I’m half-way through writing my first novel, but it’s a very lonely existence. I don’t feel confident enough to join a writers’ group. But if you fancy a ladies lunch and a bit of shopping down this way, do ping me an email 🙂

    • Clare – I wish I could say I was ‘half way through my first novel’ – good for you. I may well take you up on that lunch (I went to infant school in Cheltenham, by the way). Just need to get a bit more sorted! Keep in touch. And good luck with your writing.

      ________________________________

  8. Maggie May says:

    What a lovely part of the world to settle. Hope you’ll be very happy. Thanks for all the links and looking forward to the flash fiction results.

  9. Prue says:

    Congratulations on making your move! And to the Cotswolds! That’s where I hope to end up one day. Ilmington would be nice…
    Enjoy your new home and lovely surroundings.

    • Anne, we almost ended up in Ilmington but the house there fell through (not literally – you know what I mean!). It is a lovely village – but we’re quite happy with where we are now!

      ________________________________

      • Prue says:

        There are some great walks round Blockley.
        Oh! And another congratulations for winning the short story radio. An interview too! Great 🙂

  10. Tracy Fells says:

    Congratulations on the Short Story Radio win – not heard about this and I’m tempted to join to listen to podcasts when out running. Please let us know when your story is available! And glad to hear move all done – lovely part of the country to live, very inspirational for writing 🙂

  11. Patricia says:

    Greetings from Canada. I have just started reading your blog and tend to get a little homesick! Have lovely memories of vacations in the Cotswolds and must congratulate you on your move and your recent publishing success. My writing so far has consisted mainly of educational materials but now I am retired I am going to try my hand at fiction and will start with short stories. That’s what brought me to your blog – I’m getting great information and ideas, Thanks. Enjoy your new home.
    Patricia

    • Welcome Patricia, nice to have you ‘on board’! Are you a Brit, now living in Canada? The sun is shining here today, which makes a change from all the horrible rain we’ve had just lately. Good luck with your writing!

Leave a Reply

