So You Think You Know Your Austen?

Lots of you liked the Jane Austen quote in the last post – ‘Let other pens dwell on guilt and misery’, so I thought you might be interested in the Guardian’s ‘fiendish’ Jane Austen quiz here.

I consider myself a bit of an Austen ‘buff’ but I got a shameful THREE out of 10!

Go on – you can do better than that!

And on a completely different subject, Take A Break magazine’s ‘You’re Telling Us’ question for this week is: What is your biggest holiday embarrassment?

Email Katie.Fraser@bauer.co.uk with your tales of disappearing bikini bottoms or speaking French in Spain (I did that when we arrived at Murcia airport. ‘Merci!’ I called – very loudly – to the man in passport control). I also once lost the keys to our hire car IN THE SEA – and 70 miles from the hotel. That was embarrassing. And it cost a fortune in taxi fares. Ah, happy days.

I won’t be sending these off because they’ve recently accepted one of my comments for publication – and I don’t like to be greedy – but if yours is one of the comments that’s selected to be printed in the magazine (and you don’t mind sending a little piccie of yourself, on acceptance), you’ll be rewarded with a nice fat cheque for £60. Not bad for five minutes work, is it?

And do please feel free to tell me your embarrassing holiday stories! Well, I’ve told you mine…!

This entry was posted in Magazines, quiz and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to So You Think You Know Your Austen?

  1. Thanks for the tip on the Take a Break feature I’ve sent mine off! It involves a nudist beach in Spain!

  2. Prue says:

    Thanks for the Jane Austen quiz – I enjoy it. The answers don’t show up though so not only will I be re-reading Mansfield Park to find the quote you used, looks like I’ll be reading the whole set again!

    As for embarrasing moments, I think they’re best forgotten. Especially unblocking the sink in Syria, not to mention…no, perhaps that’s best left unmentioned 🙂

Leave a Reply

