‘Festival Of Romance’ – And A Romance Novel Competition

Sorry I’ve been away for almost a week. I’m not sure where the time’s gone but it’s just whizzed by! And so much for good intentions. In the last post I said I was going to enter the Calderdale Short Story competition – well, I didn’t!

Festival of Romance

Details of this year’s Festival of Romance have been announced and oooh, it looks really good (and, let’s face it, most genres have some romance in them, so that’s all the excuse you’ll need to go along!). I actually won a ticket to this event last year but I couldn’t go and I had to give it back! Aagh!

It takes place in Bedford in November. Have a look at the details here.

Bedford is – I’ve just looked on Mapquest – 1.5 hour’s drive from me. That’s not bad. I might go!

If it’s too far for you but you write romance, you might be interested in the free novel competition to win one of three publishing contracts (for e-books) with Piatkus. You need to be able to send them a complete manuscript (80,000 – 100,000 words) by 30th September though, so get typing! More details are here.

Question Time

As I write this, Question Time is on the tele’ (we have a new ‘pact’ – if I’m sitting on the sofa with my laptop, my chap has complete control of the remote! Fair enough, I suppose. As long as he doesn’t put ‘Top Gear’ on).

Anyway, Tory MP Louise Mensch is on the panel. Does anyone remember her as chick-lit writer Louise Bagshawe? Whatever you might think of her as a person – or her politics – I’m always in awe of anyone who’s been a successful writer and then starts a completely new career. ‘Driven’, I suppose is the word. *Sighs* I wish I was ‘driven’.

I said to my man the other day that I thought I might be depressed. “Why?” he asked.
“Because I can’t get out of bed in the mornings and people who are depressed can’t get out of bed.” Pause. “Of course,” I said, “it could just be laziness.”
“Yes,” he agreed. “It’s laziness.”

Mslexia Results

And finally, the winners of the Mslexia short story competition have been announced and the top three are available to read on the website here. I’ve only read the winner, so far but it was good. See what you think.

This entry was posted in Short Stories, Television and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ‘Festival Of Romance’ – And A Romance Novel Competition

  1. Great post ,thank you. I get all the information from following your blog! Bedford is only an hour from me, and I will definitely be there (although just looked at the ticket list, and have no idea how to choose what to go to!). I remember reading about the festival back in February, I can’t believe how the time has flown since then (although it could still be February, given the weather outside this morning….)

  2. Tracy Fells says:

    I’ve just re-subscribed to Mslexia. The winning stories were well written, but I thought rather anti-men. Okay, that’s probably a given with Mslexia writing yet I found it rather sad that all the male characters were 2-dimensional and pretty nasty. Would stories with sympathetic and likeable male characters make into the mag? What do you think?

    • Hmm, yes, good point, Tracy. I find Mslexia a bit ‘right on’ sometimes and, as you say, anti-men. I didn’t renew my subscription last time, partly because of cost/time and partly because it took itself rather too seriously at times! But I’ve won a subscription, so I will be reading it again, at least for the next 12 months! Why don’t you write to them and make the same point you’ve just made here? It would be interesting to see if they print it and also what the response is!! (Sadly I don’t think you get anything for letters in Mslexia though, do you?)

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

