Something’s Cooking….

Ah, it’s a shame. The you-know-what games are over (except for the Paralympic games of course, let’s not forget them). I promise not to mention the ‘O’ word again. But I feel a bit flat! What am I going to watch every morning, afternoon and evening now?

Just in case you’re feeling at a bit of a loss too, here are a few writerly things that I’ve been distracting myself with:

Sestude Challenge

Do you know what a ‘sestude’ is? It sounds like an ancient type of poem, doesn’t it? But actually, it “a reflective study in poetry or prose inspired by an object, using exactly 62 words” and it’s a fairly recent invention.

Foyles bookshop are running a little competition on their website, inviting you to describe your favourite book from childhood in the form of a sestude.

I’ve done it and it was fun – and quite tricky to boil it down to just 62 words (so it’s a good exercise in editing!).

All I will reveal about my entry – because it’s bound to be the same as some of yours – is that it was an Enid Blyton book!

Read more here.

Novelicious

Novelicious is a handy little website if you want to procrastinate for a few minutes (and we’re all allowed a bit of ‘time off’, aren’t we?)

It describes itself as a website for ‘readers and writers’ and there are lots of handy writing tips and sometimes they have writing competitions (I missed one they held earlier this year but I’ll keep my eye on it from now on!).

As I say, it’s really only for when you’ve done about eight hours of writing and you need to chillax at the end of the day (Chillax?! Where did that come from?)

My beloved has just wandered into the kitchen (my temporary office)
“What are we having for dinner?” he said (nicely)
“Um… we’re having..err…we’re having…THING!” I replied, without looking up.
He went away again.
Moral of the story: do not interrupt a writer when she is blogging.

Maureen Strikes Again

I had an email from Maureen at Woman’s Weekly today. You know what that means. REJECTION! Re-marketing opportunity for a short story, of course! I changed it a bit and whizzed it straight off to The Weekly News! That doesn’t work for all stories, by the way but I thought it was worth a try with this one.

But, the good news is (and I hope I’m not jinxing it by telling you.), I’ve had an idea for a (possible) serial for WW and I’ve started to write it. Exciting!

Free Short Story Competition (for people in Cheshire!)

And finally, here’s a great FREE short story competition, offering the chance to win a not-to-be-sniffed-at £2000 and publication in an anthology. The closing date’s 1st September, so plenty of time.

BUT (there’s always a but), you “have to have been born, live or have lived, study or have studied, work or have worked, in CHESHIRE”.

I’m considering moving house, just so I’m eligible. Let me know if any of you are! And good luck!

Right, better go. Got to rustle up a dish of THING!

This entry was posted in Competitions, Moving House, Novels, Short Stories, Television and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Something’s Cooking….

  1. I’m sure thing will be better than no-thing, unless he’s popped out to the chippy instead Helen. Thanks for the book link and website.

  2. KH says:

    Thanks for the info, Helen. Commiserations on your ‘return’ from WW. I got one today too – it can go in the pile with the others! I didn’t have the inspiration for a serial though. How exciting – your blood must be bubbling with all the recent visual excitement of the ‘you know what beginning with the letter O’. Looks like a good writing comp in Cheshire, Helen. Maybe a bunch of we writers should rent a flat together for a week to provide us with eligibility. Good luck with the serial. KH

  3. Prue says:

    YAY! I WAS born in Cheshire and lived there for 9 years.
    Pity there is no theme – but I will have a go anyway 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

  4. Julia says:

    I’ve also had a rejection from WW – must be the time of the month! I have an aunt who lives in Nantwich, but I don’t think that will qualify me for the Cheshire comp. But I have done the Foyles one, based on a bookI won for 100% attendance at Sunday School. Happy days.

  5. Linda says:

    Hiya, sorry to hear about your rejection, but glad that you have somewhere else to send it and inspiration for something longer.

    I live in Chester so can enter this comp – thanks for flagging it up for me – I’d forgotten all about it. I did enter a couple of years ago but got nowhere! Still nothing ventured.

    The short story comp is run every other year with a poetry comp in the alternating years. The winner is usually announced at the Literary Fesitval in Chester in October.

    Linda

  6. sp56h says:

    Lots of info here, thanks. Have been working on my entry for Foyles comp – a C.S. Lewis, you can probably guess which one!

Leave a Reply

