Short Story Shortlisted (Voting Now via Website!)

I HATE ‘voting’ competitions. They should be against the law. Usually they have nothing to do with merit or talent and everything to do with who has the most cheek (and the most friends).

So, I have a dilemma. I’ve been shortlisted in the A Vogel bedtime short story competition for this month and the organisers are going to award the monthly prize (£50 I think and the chance to be picked as one of the overall winners) to the story that gets the most votes on their website. Aaagh! That’s me out then.

I’m not going to beg or cajole, in fact I’m not even going to tell you which one of the four is mine, as I don’t think that’s fair or in the spirit of the competition (it’s all done anonymously).

But if you get chance to read them here (there’s only 4 and they all just have one vote so far) and want to vote for the one you think is best, that would be great, thank you.

And who knows, at least this way I might end up with a few votes! (And if I don’t …well, I won’t be losing any sleep over it!) Ha ha.

*more details about the comp here – they’re still accepting entries until 31st October 2012 and it’s free.

This entry was posted in Competitions, Short Stories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Short Story Shortlisted (Voting Now via Website!)

  1. Tracy Fells says:

    I was planning to enter the Bedtime competition (just need to get on and write the story first!), but didn’t realise there was monthly voting. Always thought the judges selected the monthly winner – so this is a surprise. Will check these out and vote as one of them is yours, but I’m not a fan of this kind of system as there must be a danger that the story of the writer with the most ‘friends’ wins rather than the best story. Costa are also running a free to enter short story competition – unfortunately the shortlist then go up for public voting to select the winner.
    Hope you come out on top for A Vogel 🙂

    • Thanks, Tracy. Normally the judges pick the monthly winner but this time (all on holiday, perhaps?!) they’re letting the public decide. Actually, now I think about it, maybe it would have been a good thing if no-one had voted because then they’d have to revert to the original (better) way of deciding the winner! Ah well…

      ________________________________

      • Tracy Fells says:

        Oops well now I’ve gone and voted (or LIked) for one of the 4! Even if your story isn’t voted the monthly winner then you still have the same chance as other entrants surely? What if there’s a surge of entries just before 31 Oct?

      • Thanks Tracy… although I still can’t see any votes on there! Not doubting you – I just wondered if there’s something wrong with their system? Seems odd that none of the other 3 entrants is canvassing votes!!

        ________________________________

      • Tracy Fells says:

        Hi Helen – I went back to Facebook and Liked the story again, but it still doesn’t register. I’m not a regular FB user so possibly I’m doing something wrong, or there is a problem with the voting setup which could explain why nobody has any votes. 🙂

      • Tracy You’re not doing anything wrong! I checked with them and they’ve admitted there’s a problem. They’ve taken the competition off the page until it’s resolved! 😦

        ________________________________

  2. Chloe says:

    I hate voting too. I entered a competition once and then found out that people could vote for a winner so forgot about it (like you, I wans’t prepared to tell friends which was mine or ask them to vote). But then it turned out that voting just determined half the short list. The judge chose the other half of the shortlist and the winners – and I’d come second. Two years later, I won the same competition, despite neither time even making the top ten of votes. That says a lot about the use of voting!

    Good luck with the competition, I’ll check it out later. (I was thinking of entering, but probably won’t now.)

  3. Bernadette says:

    Good luck with the voting and well done with being shortlisted no matter where it goes from here!

    I also dislike these ‘popularity contest’ writing comps – not least because the story is then ‘published’ and can’t be sold elsewhere – and only entered the Vogel one as it said you could opt out of the monthly voting thing if they decided to do it. You don’t have to have won a monthly prize to be in with a chance of the main prizes anyway.

  4. KH says:

    Well done, Helen. You did well. Good wishes KH

  5. Congrats on the shortlisting, Helen. Let us know when the voting is open again (& I must get round to entering that competition…).

  6. Maggie May says:

    I once entered a competition with a similar voting system. When I went back to check on results, the whole thing had disappeared/crashed or whatever. So never again for me.

  7. DebbieW says:

    I think there are two sides to whether a comp should allow for public voting or not. I’m not a big fan of it because, as mentioned above, it can simply become a popularity contest rather than a writing competition and that’s why I don’t rush to enter such comps.

    Yet, looking at the Costa Award six stories will be up for public attention, and the prizes are pretty good – what was it £3,500 or something around that figure and £750 for runners up? Even if you don’t win, your story will have been something pretty special to reach a shortlist of six in a free comp offering prizes at that level. I’d have thought to find your story in this final six may be quite something to be proud of, and (hopefully) readers will remember your story? More so than if you hadn’t ever entered.

    I think I will definitely read them, maybe even vote, but I won’t enter.

    Sorry to see you’ve had problems with the comp you’ve entered recently, Helen.

    Best wishes,
    DebbieW

    • Debbie
      I agree – the Costa short story award is something a bit different. It’s all judged anonymously and yes, if you make it into the top 6 then you’ve done brilliantly well. I’d be quite happy to get to the top 6 and not make it any further! It will be very interesting to see, when it’s finally revealed, who the top 6 are (ie: if they’re well known writers or complete ‘unknowns’ – as the prestige of this competition and the considerable prize money are bound to attract the ‘big boys and girls’). I didn’t enter (although I intended to) as I had nothing that I considered to be good enough – and that’s not just me being modest. All my best work is currently entered for other competitions and I haven’t had chance to write anything new. But I will definitely be keeping an eye on this comp and I will be voting for my favourite!

Leave a Reply

