A Little The Worse For Wear…(and a free writing competition)

I am back from the wedding. Feeling a little bleary and foggy-brained, I must admit and no, it’s not a hangover, it’s just lack of sleep. Really.

The wedding (my partner’s daughter’s) was lovely. The weather was perfect and the sunflowers looked wonderful. I don’t know if it was because the groom was Irish so there were lots of Celts there, but, my goodness, I have never been to a wedding where everyone cried so much!

I had some good news while I was away, in the form of a voicemail message left on my phone during the wedding breakfast. Writing ‘successes’ are often like that, I find. If you think too much about a competition or a story you’ve submitted, you never hear. (It’s that ‘watched kettle never boils’ syndrome). It’s the ones you’ve completely forgotten about that suddenly pop up again, out of the blue.

Now, it’s not that exciting (sorry) but my entry for the Wells Literary Festival Short story competition has been shortlisted. And they want me to go along to the prize-giving on 14th October, when the winners will be announced. Now there could well be 20 shortlisted entries (shout out if you’re another one!) and the chances of me actually winning first, second or third prize are probably very slim but we’re going to have a day out in Wells anyway… and I will keep you posted!

And here, thanks to Louise Doughty, who has highlighted it on her Telegraph Short Story Club this weekend, I bring you news of a new, free, short story competition, sponsored by ‘Hush’ clothing. You’ve got until 31st October to email your (max 2000 word) entry, which has to be on the theme of ‘hush’ (hmm….)

Details here.

This entry was posted in Competitions, Short Stories, Successes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Little The Worse For Wear…(and a free writing competition)

  1. adelesymonds says:

    congratulations on being shortlisted, good luck.

  2. Congratulations on the shortlisting!

    Those sunflowers are fabulous – I really must try growing some.

    • Patsy yes, they were fabulous and they were everywhere – in the church, on the tables at the reception and in the bride’s bouquet. (and we all had packets of sunflower seeds as favours on the table) Really lovely.

  3. Cath Barton says:

    Many congratulations – and why shouldn’t you be a prize-winner?

  4. PhilippaB says:

    Well done for the shortlisting! Fingers crossed for the next bit… And thanks for the Hush link, I’ll add it to my long list of “okay, let’s get something done for this competition”….!

  5. Pat says:

    Well done you! Yes go – you never know who you might meet….

  6. simonwhaley says:

    Good luck in Wells! Just start practising for that moment when they utter those immortal words … “And the winner is …”

  7. Congratulations – that’s brilliant and should be a lovely occasion.
    Glad the wedding was fab too 🙂
    x

Leave a Reply

