Random Words Short-Short Story Competition – Update

The deadline for my little writing competition has passed. I’ve shortlisted 5 from each category (‘Newbie’ and ‘Open’) and last night my friend Chris read them all (anonymously) and chose her two winners!

There were 18 ‘Newbie’ entries and 32 in the ‘Open’ category, so that was pretty good! Thank you to everyone who took the trouble to enter!

I won’t be revealing the winners until 25th (next Tuesday), as promised, but I may tantalise you a day or two before, by posting the 10 shortlisted entries, so keep your eyes on the blog!

Good Day

Yesterday was all about writing. Mostly good but also a bit of bad.

First of all – The Good – I met up with my writing buddy Sally Jenkins for a good old catch-up and chat about writing! Talking about writing is even better than doing it, don’t you think?

We gave ourselves a good talking to, commiserated over lack of success in some areas, reminded ourselves to be nice to everyone on our blogs (Sally always is – sometimes I slip!) and set ourselves some writing targets for between now and Christmas. Ooh, how organised and business-like! [eek, there is a horrible shrieking noise coming from the darkness outside. This happens sometimes, I’ve noticed, in ‘the country’. I suspect it is something eating something else. Ah well] .

In the midst of my nice day out with Sally (here comes The Bad), I was trying to unravel the mystery that was my new course and there were various texts and phone messages flying around. Remember I told you I was supposed to be joining a new evening class, ‘Find The Novel Inside You’?

According to the college website, it was on Wednesdays from 7pm – 9pm. But that wasn’t right! Silly website. It was actually on Wednesday mornings, from 10am – 12pm. And the venue changed no less than FOUR times (the third change was at 9.40am, when I got a call and when, presumably, those people who knew it was a morning class, were in transit!).

But, things brightened up because when I got home from meeting Sally, I had: a) an acceptance from Woman’s Weekly, b) a moleskin notebook as my prize for having a letter in Writers Forum AND c) I found out I’d won the ‘Newsfront’ slot in the latest Writers Forum, which means I win a year’s subscription to the magazine.

Ah, very nice. If only every day could be like that (minus the college ‘mess-up’ – their words).

So, we’re not doing the course now, which is a shame. More than a shame: I’m REALLY disappointed. I also turned something rather lovely down last night (VIP tickets to a play in Chipping Norton), thinking I’d be at my new class. Drat and double drat.

There was only one thing for it. I had to console myself with chocolate.

This entry was posted in Blogging, Competitions, random word competition, Successes, West Midlands and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Random Words Short-Short Story Competition – Update

  1. Julia says:

    Three triumphs and only one disaster – and not of your doing: I’d call that a good day!

  2. Carol says:

    Well done on the acceptance and the prizes.

  3. KH says:

    Well done, Helen! You’re an inspiration. KH

  4. Well done on your prizes. You could write a story about the on/off writing class.

  5. Debbie W says:

    Congratulations on the prizes you’ve won. Sorry to see you’ve been involved in a college ‘mess up’ hopefully they’ll organise it again for you.

    Best wishes,
    Debbie W

Leave a Reply

