Cheltenham Festival Wine Tasting Anyone…? (+ Ghost Comps)

It’s too far away for some (particularly my Aussie friends!) but I know that some readers of this blog live in and around Cheltenham and I wondered if anyone wanted tickets for this Cheltenham Literary Festival wine tasting/book swap event on Monday 8th October from 6.30 – 7.30pm?

Tickets are worth £10 each and I’ve got one pair to give away (it was 2 pairs, but one has been snaffled up!). I won them in a Lindemans Facebook competition and I can’t use them now (long story, involving a funeral in Scotland) but I’d hate them to go to waste so if anyone wants them – and can definitely use them – then you can have them!

The event is only for an hour and tickets are worth £10 each but include wine tasting and book swap (‘bring a book to swap’, it says!). Sounds like fun!

Just leave me a comment on here asap, so I can get them in the post to you.

3 Ghost Story Competitions

On a completely different subject, (1) Jury’s Inn hotels are running a Ghost Story competition on their Facebook page, for Hallowe’en, which might be of interest. (sorry if this excludes you because you’re not on Facebook but come on – even I’m on Facebook!)

There’s very little info on the page, apart from that the prize is a family weekend in Edinburgh (hotel only or travel, spends too? Afraid it doesn’t say).

Tell us your best scary story….. have you ever seen a ghost or know someone who has?? Submit your story by 19/10/2012 to be in with a chance of winning a family break to Edinburgh if your story is spine tingling enough!”

There’s no word limit by the way – I asked them.

I’m assuming that they will be judging the competition but it could turn into one of those annoying voting ones… so anyway, take your choice! If you’ve got a ghost story (sounds like they want true ones but hey, who’s going to know – and we’re writers, aren’t we? We can make things up!), then have a go!

(2) Writing magazine is running its annual ghost story competition with a £200 first prize. You’ve only got until 15th October for this one, so get moving if you want to have a go. It’s £4 to enter or £3 for subscribers.

And finally, if you live in or around Norwich, you might be interested in this (3) free ghost story comp (closing date also 15th October 2012) which is being run by the Writers Centre in Norwich.

The prize is to hear an exclusive ‘rehearsed reading ‘ at Norwich Theatre Royal – and you can bring an audience – plus 4 tickets to the Alan Ayckbourn play ‘Haunting Julia’. More info here.

Happy haunting….

This entry was posted in Books, Competitions, Events and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cheltenham Festival Wine Tasting Anyone…? (+ Ghost Comps)

  1. Clare Banks says:

    Hi Helen. I’d really like your Lindeman’s tickets if they’re still available. By the way, the event I emailed you about was sold out, but I’ve been put on the waiting list. Should I email my address to you? Thanks.

    • Clare That’s great – I hate things to be wasted. Yes, there’s still one pair available and I can put them in the post to you first class today. Email me your address to: helenyendall@yahoo.co.uk

      ________________________________

      • Clare Banks says:

        Hi Helen. The tickets have arrived. Really looking forward to the event. Thanks again. PS. I’m attending a couple of Fringe writing workshops next Thursday at The Strand http://wordsontheside.org.uk and the Finding the Plot event on Friday 12th if you fancy a meet-up.

      • Clare – glad you got the tickets and I hope you enjoy the event. The fringe programme looks great – I had a quick look on the site. Can’t make next week, I’m afraid as I’ve got builders to ‘look after’ and lots of stuff to catch up on. Hopefully we can do it another time!

  2. Hi Helen, thanks for the competition links. You have cake on my blog.

Leave a Reply

