Another (free) Ghost Story Competition – 50 words

Dear blog readers, I am good to you.

I have interrupted my hoovering (aah, I love a good hoover on a Saturday. And no, I am NOT joking!) to bring you news of a ghost story competition in today’s Times. My very-well-trained mother has just texted me about it and I could have kept it all to myself but I am feeling bountiful, so I am sharing.

However, I feel it’s only right to tell you, that as the closing date is 23rd October and that is my birthday – and also the birthday of Alice Parrant – one or other of us is probably destined to win.

But if that hasn’t put you off, here are the details.

The tricky part is: you’ve only got 50 words! That doesn’t leave much room for anything except a couple of ‘ooooh’s and ‘aaarrrrrgh’s – if that’s not all too ‘Scooby Doo’. But I’m sure you’ll think of something. See, all that practice I’ve given you with the 250 mini-sagas, wasn’t in vain.

The first prize is £200-worth of selected books chosen by Random House and Profile, plus a signed set of Susan Hill’s ghost stories. Three runners-up will also win signed copies of Susan Hill’s ghost stories.

Send your entry in the body of the email (ie: no attachments) to: bookscomp@thetimes.co.uk with Ghost Story in the subject line or post it to Ghost Story, Books, The Times, 3 Thomas More Square, London E98 1TT.

Include your name, address and telephone number. Entries must be received by 5pm Tuesday, October 23, 2012. Winners will be notified by October 27 and their names printed in The Times on October 29. There will be one winner and three runners-up. One entry per person. UK and Republic of Ireland only.

P.S: If you missed them in an earlier post, there are some more ghost story competitions here. There’s still (just!) time to enter.

P.P.S: The Telegraph ran a ghost story competition a couple of years ago and if you want to get yourself in the mood by reading the shortlisted entries, they’re here. They are, however, all a lot longer than 50 words!

Don’t have nightmares…!

This entry was posted in Competitions, Newspapers, Short Stories and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Another (free) Ghost Story Competition – 50 words

  1. Christine Steenfeldt says:

    Thank you for your generosity in sharing these comps. I may have a go at this one although 50 words isn’t much to play with! Do you think that limit includes the title and can it be less than 50? It wasn’t clear in the rules-at least not to me!

    • Christine I’d say it can be up to 50 words (so less is OK). The example they give on the Times website, by Erica Wagner, is only 46 words. I wouldn’t bother with a title – I don’t think they expect one. By the way, I don’t really think Erica Wagner’s is a ghost story – it’s more like horror. Don’t you think?

      ________________________________

  2. ET says:

    Once you’ve safely sent off your entries, I’d love to read them here.

  3. Hi Helen, thanks for the mention, birthday twin! And for the comp info. I’ll have to have a go though I’m not great at ghost stories and in only 50 words…. that is certainly a challenge!

  4. Christine Steenfeldt says:

    Hi Helen. I agree about Erica Wagner’s. Actually, I didn’t really get it but don’t tell anyone. Thanks for the info. I’ve got an idea but how to get it down to 50 words or less is another matter!

  5. Thanks for sharing this and other comps! Good luck all.

Leave a Reply

