What To Do With That Extra Hour…

Don’t forget (if you’re in the UK), the clocks go back tonight! That means an extra hour in bed – hurrah!

Thanks to Patsy Collins for highlighting yet another free short story competition on her blog, this time courtesy of the ‘bible’ that is ‘The Writers’ & Artists’ Yearbook’ (and if you’re wondering what do to with that ‘extra’ hour, maybe you could start thinking about an entry for this?)

The theme is ‘freedom’. Do you like competitions that have themes, or not? I like the fact that they usually force entrants to write something specifically for that particular competition. If you happen to have written a story that fits the theme, good for you but it’s not generally a good idea to try to ‘force’ a story you have in your stockpile (stockpile! I wish…!), to fit a theme, because the judges will be able to tell and won’t like it! 😦

You’ve got until 15th February 2013 to enter this one and the first prize is a rather lovely £500 AND a place on an Arvon course of your choice (which is worth over £600, by the way). 🙂

The competition is “open to all ages, professions and nationalities” BUT, note, you do have to register on the Writers’ & Artists’ website in order to be able to enter. Read all the rules on the website.

You’ll notice that there are a few other writing competitions on the same page as the Short Story competition (below) but don’t get all excited, like I did because they are ALL OVER! But I’ll keep an eye on the website from now on because they obviously run competitions fairly often.

Enjoy the rest of the weekend!

This entry was posted in Competitions, Short Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What To Do With That Extra Hour…

  1. Patsy says:

    I intend to sleep during my extra hour – but maybe I’ll dream up a plot at the same time.

  2. EXTRA
    An extra hour
    An extra dream
    An extra hope
    And in between…
    An extra fear
    An extra dread
    An extra tear
    For me to shed.

    I’m not really that glum, but it rhymes!

  3. Hey Helen, we’re in sync, not that I have as much published as you, but I spent yesterday writing a rambling first draft of my freedom story, I had an idea, but the story has gone in another direction, but I’m having fun with it. Thanks for pointing out the registering part, I didn’t know about that. What a fantastic prize as well. I shall be jolly well sleeping in our cosy bed in the arms of my gorgeous hubby with the extra hour.

  4. Linda says:

    Well I ‘lost’ my extra hour! My husband altered the downstairs clocks before we went to bed but when I woke up this morning and saw the clock on my bedside table I didn’t know if he’d altered it – or not. He was fast asleep so I couldn’t ask him. The clock showed eight o’clock, and I spent the next hour wondering if that was the correct time or if it was really an hour earlier, thinking that perhaps I should get up and check the other clocks so I’d know for sure, deciding that if it was only seven I could go back to sleep – although if I got up and did some writing I’d feel very virtuous … So, at nine o’clock I got up and discovered it was officially eight – which is the time I normally get up on a Sunday!
    Yes, I like themed competitions, my imagination needs to have some boundaries.

  5. PhilippaB says:

    I cheated and “used” my extra hour last night – staying up later than usual to watch a film, on my 14-year-old’s insistence (“Look, if we put our clocks back now, it’s only half past nine, we’ve got plenty of time!”). And revelled in the extra bed hour this morning too, double bubble!
    Thanks for another interesting competition tip Helen (and Patsy).

Leave a Reply

