Time For A Little Romance…

Firstly, I bring you news (courtesy of Sue Moorcroft’s excellent blog), of a just-about-to-be-launched romantic short story competition, ‘The Sophie King Prize’.

It’s free-to-enter and open to both published and unpublished writers resident in the UK.

The winning story will be recorded by a professional actor, and broadcast from a dedicated online audio player at http://www.sophieking.info and http://www.greatstorieswithheart.com.

The winner will also receive a beautiful silver-plated jug and £50 gift voucher courtesy of The Handpicked Collection (www.handpickedcollection.com).

Sounds good, doesn’t it? Read all about it here.

Sophie King (also known as Jane Bidder and Janey Fraser!) is a very successful romantic novelist and short story writer. She tutored at Caerleon Writers’ Holiday one year and I can still remember some of her excellent advice – oh, and also the fact that she had about 9 or 10 novels rejected (which amounted to a MILLION WORDS) before she was finally accepted by a publisher! DO NOT GIVE UP, is the moral of the story!

And secondly, if you’re into romantic fiction and you can get to Bedford on 16th/17th November (both days, preferably, to make the most of the prize), then here’s your chance to win tickets for TWO to attend the Festival of Romance.

Which looks fantastic.

I am still kicking myself that I won a ticket for this last year and couldn’t go! And I am away on a girlie weekend 16-17th November so I can’t go this year either. BUT I am not entering! Ah ha – that’s called learning from your mistakes.

Anyway, go to the Novelicious website and leave a comment saying why you’d like to win by 7th November and those two lovely tickets could be yours!

This entry was posted in Competitions, Events, Short Stories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Time For A Little Romance…

  1. Patsy says:

    I wouldn’t be able to get to the festival so I’d better give that a miss. Looks like it would be a good thing to do though.

  2. Clare Banks says:

    Thanks for flagging up another competition, Helen. I wonder if you can help me with something. I work with Scrivener, but its word-count always differs from similar online tools I’ve tried. What do you use? I’m finding it tricky meeting the criteria for an exact number of words. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

