Win A ‘Writing For Children’ Course

trumpetRight, it’s time for some more unashamed trumpet-blowing.

John, a very discerning chap, who follows this blog, contacted me today to tell me that he’s won the last Writers Bureau competition, that I told you about here.

Hurrah!

It was a caption competition and I can see why John’s entry was the winner (it’s funny!).

He is, naturally enough, rather chuffed and has won a correspondence course on Freelance Journalism to work through at his leisure, with 15 assignments, all of which will be marked by a personal tutor. Not bad, eh?

Although I work for the WB (as a poetry tutor), I don’t know exactly how much the courses cost but I’d say that one is worth at least £100 – probably a lot more.

Hmm, so that’s now THREE people who’ve won Writers Bureau courses since I encouraged them to enter the monthly (free!) competitions.

Can we make it FOUR?

If you’re interested in writing for children, then why not have a go at their latest competition to win one of the Writers Bureau correspondence courses on… you’ve got it.. ‘Writing for Children’.

This time it’s a treasure hunt. Those devious people at WB want you to follow the links to various pages on their website and unscramble the letters you find to make the title of a Christmas carol.

Well, that sounds like a great excuse for a bit of procrastination, if you ask me, so read all about it here (scroll down a bit) – and enjoy!

Entry is free and open to everyone and you’ve got until 31st December to email your entry. So do it now, before you get bogged down in Christmas cards… !

This entry was posted in Competitions, Successes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Win A ‘Writing For Children’ Course

  1. That was a really funny entry, wouldn’t have thought of that. Well done, and I’m going to have a go at the next one, wish me luck, it’s a great prize, thanks.

  2. Patsy says:

    A deserving winner!

  3. PhilippaB says:

    Great caption – it’s a real art!
    And it looks like being a Helen-Yendall-blog-follower is the secret key to competition success…!

  4. Jo Tiddy says:

    I agree. I see Helen as a little fairy sprinkling lucky dust around!

  5. Christine Steenfeldt says:

    Very funny caption! I’ve just spent the best part of half an hour on the treasure hunt and haven’t come close to a Christmas carol – not one that I’ve heard of anyway. I must have got some of the letters wrong. Still, it beats writing!

    • Any luck yet, Christine? From memory, doing one of these before, you shouldn’t have to find every single letter in order to work out the carol…? Don’t know if that’s helped at all?

      • Christine Steenfeldt says:

        Not a thing-I agree, that I should be able to come up with the title even if a few letters are wrong- but nothing, not a sausage! And now, I’m busy reading the Costa shortlist so that’s another excuse not to write!

  6. Tracy Fells says:

    Very funny – it takes a lot of skill to come up these too. Well done to John!
    Also do like your snowman scene, had a flurry here the other day but not enough for a snow person.

  7. Julia says:

    Cracked it – I think! Now, I really must do some work.

Leave a Reply

