Weekend Giveaway And Writing Competition – QUICK!

Book Giveaway JanuaryLook what I have won in a lovely giveaway from those kind people at The Society of Authors:

Four delicious, newly-published books in the ‘Teach Yourself’ series: ‘Write a Best-selling Thriller; ‘Break Into Travel Writing’, ‘Write Great Dialogue’ and ‘Write A Novel’.

And guess what I am going to do (because all that snow has befuddled my brain)? I’m giving TWO of them away! Any two of your choice, if you are the winner! And yes, I will send them anywhere, so this giveaway is open to anyone.

All you have to do is leave a comment below, telling me which 2 books you’d like to win and why! (The ‘why’ can just be about one of the books, if you like – the one you’d particularly like to win).

This is going to be a random draw, so don’t worry too much about what you write, as I won’t be ‘judging’ it. I just thought it would be interesting to see the reasons for your choice.

This is a ‘weekend’ giveaway so you need to post your comment no later than 9pm on Sunday 20th Jan, when I will be doing the draw.

Write Link Weekend Competition C/d: 4pm, Saturday 19th Jan

And, if you need a little something else to keep you going during this ‘snowed-in’ weekend* then, how about this, which is not one of my competitions, but something that ‘Write Invite’ are running as an ‘add on’ to their usual Saturday afternoon writing competition:

Deadline: 4pm on Saturday 19th January
Prize: £25 minimum (depends on number of entries)
Entry fee: £2 – payable via Paypal to rob@write-invite.com
150 words maximum (not incl. title)
Multiple entries accepted.
Themes are: ‘Mr Snowman’, ‘Snowed In’ or ‘Shelter From The Storm’ (choose one).
Title your email in capitals ‘Snow Comp’.

This comp will be ‘turned around’ by next Friday (I assume that means, the winner will be announced). The winning story will be sent to over 1500 members of Write Invite. (which I’ve blogged about before –here).

I might even have a go myself. My writing day has been postponed (you remember, the one I had to read 200 pages for!!), so I have a little time on my hands!

‘Father Brown’

If anyone’s watching the new BBC TV series ‘Father Brown’ (based on the GK Chesterton novels) – and I’m sure you’re not because it’s on at a strange time: 2.10 in the afternoon… well, this is a very roundabout way of telling you that it was filmed in my village, Blockley, last summer! (And caused much excitement). And that is what ‘Father Brown’s church’ looked like today…

Father Brown's Church January 2013

*Readers from outside the UK, you just need to know this: it has snowed – big time – and, as always, we are totally surprised and unprepared. It’s like we’ve never seen snow before. Schools have closed, roads are impassable, lots of people had to stay at home today. AND WE LOVE IT!

PS: I have some exciting comps and writing opportunities to tell you about. Come back tomorrow for those!

This entry was posted in Books, Competitions, Cotswolds, West Midlands and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Weekend Giveaway And Writing Competition – QUICK!

  1. Catherine Robinson says:

    I would love to win the Write a Novel book… And the Dialogue one would be fab! The reason is that my new year’s resolution is to crack on and write something longer than a poem …. And I need all the help I can muster!

  2. Helen M Smith says:

    hI Helen,
    I would really like to win the novel writing book and the thriller one because these two subjects are ones which my students ask me about constantly and about which I know very little, so they would help me to help them! Thanks for all your interesting posts,

    best wishes,
    Helen

  3. Hi Helen, I’d love the novel writing one, you know why, I won’t go on, and the dialogue, always useful. You’re so generous, and that church looks lovely.

  4. Eugene Egan says:

    Hi Helen, I’d like to win the book ‘Write Great Dialogue’ as think this would help me to develop writing short stories. Eugene

  5. Hayley Jones says:

    I’d love to win the Write a Novel and Thriller ones, because I’ve been slogging away at my (first) novel for a couple of months and it has thriller elements, but I don’t seem to be getting very far very fast! What I’ve written probably doesn’t make sense and I’ve no idea if/when it will even start to resemble a novel…

  6. Lauren says:

    Just the writing dialogue book please – I’m sure it will help me as all my characters’ conversations always sound like they have rehearsed them several times over for some tedious play they have found themselves compelled to take part in…

  7. luanaaraceli says:

    Hi Helen,
    I’d like to win “Write Great Dialogue” and “Write a Bestselling Thriller.” Most of my writing relies on dialogue and it’d be awesome to have a book to help make that dialogue stronger. As for the other, suspense is one of my favorite types of fiction.

  8. Shelley says:

    I’d like to win the thriller one and the travel one. I have some ideas for a thriller and I need advice on how to put them into an exciting plot. I’ve also been meaning to write a travel article for a mag and would like some pointers on how to make it fun and draw in the readers.

  9. Debbie W says:

    Hello Helen,

    I’d like to win ‘Break Into Travel Writing’ as I’ve often thought about this yet never known where to start. The ideas in this book would give me the confidence I need to begin a new area for writing for me.

    The other book I’d mostly like to win is ‘Write a Bestselling Thriller’ because as I’ve never written a thriller to completion (although I have tried) I’d love to be given some hints, tips and ideas as to how to write one other people would enjoy reading.

    I also checked out the books on google and other sites and immediately felt drawn to the bits of these I was allowed to peep at.

    Some time ago I purchased NIgel Watts’ original book with those delightful colours on the front cover, ‘How to Write a Novel’ and even though I’d love his new version, I am happy with the one I have (for now).

    What brilliant prizes, Helen and well done to you for winning them in the first place.

    Regards,
    Debbie W

  10. networksue says:

    I would really like to win the Write Great Dialogue and Break into Travel Writing. I often struggle with maintaining good dialogue and it can deter me from finishing a piece. I know practice is the key but any help from your lovely book would be brilliant! I also spend time in a special corner of Wales that inspires and delights at every season. Writing travel articles about the adventures I have there every day would be a boost to the local economy and broaden experience. Thank you for a great competition.
    Sue

  11. johny141 says:

    As I have recently resigned from my position as a Hamburger Salesman I would like to win the Travel Writing and Dialogue books to improve in my newly chosen Writer career path
    .
    Although in the last two years my sales have been stable but now it feels that I am flogging a dead horse so to win the books would cheer me up a treat.
    Good luck to All entrants,,,John

  12. Julia says:

    I’d like to win the dialogue and novel books please! I’m often told in critiques that my dialogue needs work.
    Father Brown is the best thing I’ve watched on tv for a long time, how nice that you live there, it looks so lovely

  13. Sue says:

    I would love to have the “Write a Best-selling Thriller” book as I find writing believable suspense very difficult and could do with the tips. As a second I’d like “Write a Novel”, which I might actually manage to do one day with enough help !

    Love your blog BTW.

  14. Angela Greenwood says:

    Hello Helen, I would love to win the ‘Dialogue’ book and the ‘Thriller’ book. Dialogue, because I like to write dialogue but I can’t get it to sound natural, and Thriller, because I would love to have a go but don’t know where to start! Thanks for doing this.
    Angela x

  15. gailaldwin says:

    Break into Travel Writing would be my choice – a trip to Vietnam is planned for Easter

  16. Christine says:

    Hi Helen
    Thanks for this generous giveaway and for your regular pointers towards competitions. If a winner I’d first choose Write a Novel. I’ve recently begun writing one and am enjoying it but can use all the help I can get. Second choice would be Break Into Travel Writing. I always write a travel journal when on holiday; it would be good to learn how to make an article from those jottings and observations. Hope the snow is not having too great a fuddling effect! So far we’ve escaped it in the far northwest.

  17. Jocelyn McDowall says:

    Would love the travel one. Then I would have to book a holiday so I could put all that helpful advice to good use! 🙂

  18. Anne Bravey says:

    I’d love to win the Thriller and Novel editions. Isn’t there a nice old hotel/inn in Blockley called the Crown?

    • There is indeed, Anne! I don’t think it’s quite as nice as it used to be – apparently it had a fish restaurant there a few years ago that was very highly regarded. Still a nice old pub now though!

  19. Laura says:

    It hasn’t even snowed that much here and people are going crazy, it’s very busy at work because of it! I’d love to win the Novel and Dialogue editions, I’m terrible at dialogue! I tend to write quite good description and then ruin it when I make my characters speak.

  20. Marie Madigan says:

    I’d love to win the Dialogue one, as I’m trying to write stories that work well on radio at the moment. The other I’d choose would be the Thriller edition because it’s so far removed from what I write and I’m just curious about the mechanics – and you never know, it might spur me on to try something completely different. Thanks for the giveaway Helen.

  21. julielees says:

    Hi Helen! If I was to win I’d choose the dialogue and novel editions so I could then set about revamping the dialogue from my sitcom (rejected by the BBC), and converting it into a short novel or a serial.

  22. Helen Lowry says:

    Hi Helen! I’d love to win the Dialogue and Thriller books. I’m sure my dialogue would benefit from sounding more natural and the thrillers, well, would like to be able to write some.
    Thanks for running this.

  23. Karen says:

    Hello Helen, I have just found your blog and think it’s great. I have lots of ideas for my novel but need the push to get going, so the Novel one and the Dialogue book would be fantastic.
    Thanks

  24. KH says:

    Hi Helen – how kind you are. I’d love to win theThriller and Dialogue books as I’m soon to re-edit my first novel attempt and I’m sure they’d come in very handy. Thanks.

  25. Susie says:

    Hi Helen, I would like to win the novel writing book. I always seem to be at the planning stage, but find it very difficult to start. I think I’m scared to invest a lot of time into something that may not go anywhere, when I’ve already got so many conflicting demands on my time. I’d like the travel writing book as well. I always used to “write up” my holidays for the university magazine, and more recently had a few travel pieces published- including one about a disastrous ferry journey, but would like some advice about how to take things further. Thanks for all your writing tips. Susie

  26. confessionsofacompaholic says:

    The write a novel one and travel writing. I picked the novel one as my hubby is part way through writing his first novel and this would be really useful for him. Travel writing would be for me as it’s always something i’ve fancied doing.
    I regularly blog and review items – so travel writing would be the next logical step for me.

    sandy

    sandyhallett(at)gmail(dot)com
    twitter: @sandyport1

  27. Amanda says:

    I would love to win the “Write a Novel” and “Write Great Dialogue” books. I have just started to think seriously about writing rather than spend yet another year dabbling in it and the books would be a great motivator.

  28. PhilippaB says:

    What a very generous offer Helen! I’d pick “Write Great Dialogue” as it’s such a vital element in any writing, and can be so very tricky to get right. And thanks for more competition info and news of your village. Here in south west France we’ve had tons of snow since Wednesday, surprising for it to last so long as usually it just melts away, and it snowed again last night. No school buses so kids at home, and we’re more or less snowed in – it’s very beautiful with the sun out, but not at all conducive to anything other than the odd snowy walk and sitting by the fire reading!

  29. Sara Kellow says:

    Hi
    I’d love to win How to Write a Novel and Write Great Dialogue because writing a novel never seems more possible than when I’ve got my face in a how to write book and I’m soaking up advice like a human sponge.

  30. littlemerants says:

    What a great giveaway! I would love to win Write A Novel, because I’ve got one on the go but am stuck, and Write A Bestselling Thriller because one of the reasons I’m stuck is that the thrilling parts aren’t very thrilling, so am debating whether to either tone it down into a family saga type thing, which would involve a complete rethink, or crank it up but for that I need some help. If it were a bestseller that would be a bonus!!

Leave a Reply

