Something For The Weekend

Psychologies magazineI know, it’s a bit late to be calling this post ‘Something for The Weekend’ at 10pm on Sunday night BUT I did start writing it on Friday evening, honest!

I was hoping to encourage you to do a bit of writing over the weekend but now that I’ve missed that, perhaps you’d like to take a look at these during the coming week, instead…

Writers’ & Artists’ Yearbook Short Story Competition: c/d 15th Feb

Don’t forget the fast-approaching deadline for The (free!) Writers’ & Artists’ Yearbook Short Story competition, which is 15th February (that’s Friday).

Maximum 2000 words, on the theme of ‘freedom’ and you can email your entry (thank God. I’ll be sending mine five minutes before the deadline, no doubt). Don’t forget that you have to register on the website before submitting your entry and it’s worth scrolling down the page and reading all the rules before you press ‘send’!

Travel Fiction Competition: c/d 28th Feb

Those nice people at the Writers’ & Artists’ Yearbook are also running a free 500-word short story (‘travel fiction’) competition, with a Kindle as the first prize.

“We’re challenging you to write a short story which brilliantly evokes a location of your choice. We’re looking for lush description that amplifies the story, immerses us in another time or place, or renders a familiar location strange. We want to see characters that are wrought in the context of their location and we hope to find a short story with plenty of life, detail and imagination.”

There are more details on the competition page (scroll down a bit) and again, you can email your entry.

Writing Workshop

And finally…. The Writers’ & Artists’ Yearbook people are running a writing weekend in conjunction with Psychologies magazine, for those of you who can get to London in April and have £300 to spend.

But, linked to that, Psychologies magazine is running a writing competition with a place on the course as first prize!

Sounds good but you have to buy a copy of March’s Psychologies to find out more. I will be hot-footing it to the shops tomorrow but if anyone gets there before me, please do report back! UPDATE (12th Feb): Psychologies is £3.80! Eek, so I didn’t buy it but stood in the Co-op and flicked through. Luckily, details of the writing comp are right near the front of the magazine and all you have to do is email your entry (Subject: Writing Competition) to: competition@psychologies.co.uk by c/d of 27th Feb. It says ‘no attachments’ so presumably you have to send your 500 words in the body of the email.

All I know at the moment is that, in order to enter, you have to “write the first page (up to 500 words) of a story or novel with the theme BEGINNINGS. It can be any genre, fiction or memoir, but it should be compelling and well-crafted, and involve the reader and make them want more.”

This entry was posted in Competitions, Short Stories and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Something For The Weekend

  1. Nanny_cool says:

    It’s a good magazine and a competition, I will be buying it tomorrow. Thanks for the tip x

  2. Philippa says:

    Thanks for the reminder + new competition info. I was looking at my list last night and noticed the 15th Feb deadline for the short story and had an inner “aaargh” – can’t see myself making it, I have a hugely demanding work week – lucky there are always more comps!

  3. Linda says:

    Just sent in my entry for the Writers’ and Artists’ Yearbook comp. Good luck to anyone else entering. I’m tempted by the other competitions but I really need to get back to my novel – I haven’t looked at it for weeks!

    • Well done Linda – very punctual too! Good luck with your entry. I’d love it if someone ‘from the blog’ won!! Especially if it was me!! No, only joking…!

      ________________________________

  4. KH says:

    Thanks for all the info, Helen. You’re very kind and deserve lots of good luck. PS saw your story in WW fiction special and enjoyed it – well done! Is it the story you did a rewrite of or have you another in the bag? I’m actually sharing mag space with you with my second WW publication on page 52 I think – oh the joys of publication. All good wishes KH

    • Oh, well done Kate! Got the WWFS in front of me now and there’s your story – ‘Hope Enterprises’ – you have got a lovely picture!! (I always want a lovely picture but I never get one!). I will read it later! No, my story wasn’t the rewrite, that’s still to come! That makes it sound like I’ve got loads in the pipeline but I haven’t, sadly! I had a little burst of success with WW when they first accepted a story from me but last year it all went a bit ‘pear-shaped’. But I’m still sending them stuff!

  5. KH says:

    Thanks, Helen. Yes, I love the picture too. The only other story they’ve bought from me (I’ve sent them loads!) was published last June and I was so excited. Then I saw there was no picture. I was very sorry for myself. Like you I keep on sending them in though. I’ll look forward to your next one – and mine! All good wishes. KH

  6. Christine Steenfeldt says:

    Hi Helen-As ever, thanks for sharing details of the various competitions with us. I am thinking of submitting to the WAYB one but in the rules, there is no mention of not putting contact details on the ms itself. In fact, they ask you to put your email address in the file if submitting as an attachment. Do you think they want your email address in the header or footer? I’m confused-it’s so unusual for it not to be spelt out!

    • Christine, I agree it’s not clear at all. Usually competition organisers are very precise about what they want and woe betide you if you put your name on when it’s supposed to be anonymous! The WAYB people don’t seem to be too worried. In the forum bit of the website, a few people have raised this question, about how to submit their story and they seem to be doing it like this: as a word document attached to the email, with their email address on the actual entry – so I’m going to do it like that too and put my email address as the header on each page of my story. One bit of the rules that worries me slightly is that they claim the right to publish the winning story (that’s fine) and, possibly also the shortlisted entries on their website. In reality, they probably won’t publish the shortlisted entries, I suspect, but I’d be a bit miffed if that happened to me as essentially your story is then ‘published’ (but you’ve got nothing for it) and you can’t enter it into another competition. But I suppose that’s the chance we have to take…! Good luck!

  7. Christine Steenfeldt says:

    Thank you for this- I hadn’t seen the comments on their site- I should have looked. Hmmm- not sure if that is a risk worth taking, though. Wonderful though it would be to be shortlisted, the thought of having a story that was good enough to get that far and then not to be able to use it elsewhere would be so frustrating. Oh well, I’ve got 24 hours or so to think about it. Good luck with your entry.

  8. Philippa says:

    It’s now the 16th Feb and I missed the 15th February deadlines, sigh! If there were more than 24 hours in the day now…no matter, no crying over spilt deadlines, onwards and upwards. I’m crossing my fingers that one of the entries from the blog followers here wins! 🙂

  9. Michael Bayes says:

    I think it will be ok. It may be because it is a different person leading it?

    Just spent soem time catching up with blogs. Quite nice to read Dove Grey and things. The guest blogger on Womag has sold 14 stories this year. I am beginning to feel inspired to try a bit more. I am doing no more schoolwork today.

    love Me

Leave a Reply

