Reality Blog Award! (*blushes*)

RealityWendy Clarke, whose lively and entertaining blog ‘Wendy’s Writing Now’, is a recent discovery of mine (yes, by all means pop across and have a look but come back!)..er, now, what was I saying? Oh yes, the lovely Wendy Clarke has nominated me for a ‘Reality Blog Award’! Thank you!

The rules of my acceptance (which, ahem, I am going to break ever-so slightly), are:

1. Visit the blog of the person who nominated you and link to them on your post (done!)
2. Answer the questions (see below)
3. Nominate more bloggers and let them know.. ah, and that’s the bit I’m going to duck out of, only because everyone I know has already been awarded for plenty of blog awards and, lovely though they are, I know sometimes they are a little bit time-consuming.. so I hope I will be forgiven and won’t be ‘stripped’ of my award for not doing that bit! (Ooh, what a rebel I am).

If you could change one thing, what would it be?

That there are only 24 hours in a day. I’d double it.

If you could repeat an age, what would it be?

It would be the ‘80s, when I was at Leeds University and it was the time of my life. But if I could repeat it, I’d be braver, wilder (!) and get my foot in the door of journalism by doing some work for the Uni newspaper (I only got as far as ‘enquiring’ – I was too scared to actually ever write anything for them. Wasted opportunity or what..?)

What one thing really scares you?

Being out of control…(oh and big hairy spiders.. can I sneak that one in too?)

If you could be someone else for the day, who would it be?

The out-going Pope Benedict, because he’s retreated from the world, to his summer residence – the wonderfully-named ‘Castel Gandolfo’ – and doesn’t have to think, or worry about anything. Does anyone else crave solitude sometimes (a lot of the time, actually?). I rather fancy a bit of that at the moment!

P.S: Don’t forget, it’s World Poetry Day today (not a lot of people know that). I would love to have found you a lovely poem on ‘solitude’ – or even written you one! But it’s late, I’m tired. I have to go now.. (puppy-viewing again tomorrow morning…! Oh, and for those of you who wanted to know about the last, strange dog-breeder, I agree it’s unlikely that he’ll read my blog BUT my lips are sealed. It’s not only that I’d rather not have a shotgun pointed at me – and he had plenty – but, more importantly, I’m going to write a story about it!)

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Reality Blog Award! (*blushes*)

  1. susan jones. says:

    I knew that’s why you were keeping quiet on it Helen. Can’t wait to see photo’s of your new addition…

  2. Wendy Clarke says:

    Hi Helen- I’m sure everyone came right back tou yours from mine! I am still giggling at the thought that you’d like to be the outgoing pope! I understand the solitude bit but I wouldn’t want to be THAT old!

    • Yes, perhaps I wouldn’t want to be that old either, BUT it’s only for a day! And a day ‘chilling’ in a lovely castle, sounds good to me!! (as long as I could take my laptop, obviously)

  3. Philippa says:

    Totally with you on the one thing to change – but would doubling the 24 hours a day be enough??

  4. Tracy Fells says:

    Can’t wait to read the story about the puppy breeder. Also I was lucky enough to once attend a business meeting held at a hotel in the village where the Castel Gandolfo is located. It’s a wonderfully peaceful place, perfect for a writing retreat. I can still hear the squeals of the swallows and swifts as we walked about the cobbled streets.

  5. Joanne Fox says:

    Castel Gandolfo does sound like something out of Tolkien!

Leave a Reply

