World Book Night & Sophie Kinsella Book Giveaway: Winner Announced – see below

booksIt’s World Book Night today (tonight?) and my fellow blogger Tracy has posted her favourite five books and wants to hear about yours.

It’s almost impossible, I think, to choose 5 favourite books but I agree with one of Tracy’s choices- Pride & Prejudice – that’s definitely on my list too. Add to that ‘I Capture The Castle’ by Dodie Smith and ‘The Help’ by Kathryn Stockett and that’s still only 3. Hmm, I will have to think a bit more about it.

Doing ‘my bit’ for World Book Night, I’ve got a brand new copy of Sophie Kinsella’s paperback, ‘I’ve Got Your Number’ to give away. This was another prize from the Tesco Books blog, last week! (I also got a signed copy of her brand new novel ‘Wedding Night’ but sorry, I’m keeping that one!).

If you want to win the Sophie Kinsella book, just leave a comment, telling me which is the funniest book you’ve ever read. (I always laugh out loud at Sophie Kinsella’s books. ‘Writing funny’ is a much underrated skill!). It’s open to all and I’ll get someone in my Thursday class to pick the winner out of a hat, so you need to leave your comment by 11am on Thursday this week!

UPDATE: In my class today (25th April), I asked someone to call out a random number between 1-12. They said ’11’ which was Tracy Fells’ number (she was the eleventh person to leave a comment). So Tracy is the winner of the book! Well done Tracy, I’ll get it to you asap if you can email me your address!

Shaggy Dog Story Competition

Those of you who entered my little ‘doggy’ writing competition, which closed on Sunday, are, I’m sure, anxiously awaiting the results! Well, the 5 shortlisted stories in each category (‘Open’ and ‘New Writer’) will be on the blog tomorrow – so come back then and see if yours is one of them!

This entry was posted in Books, Competitions, Short Stories and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to World Book Night & Sophie Kinsella Book Giveaway: Winner Announced – see below

  1. Wendy Clarke says:

    Pride and Prejudice and I Capture the Castle would be on my list too along with My Cousin Rachel by Daphne du Maurier, One Day by David Nichols, The Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger and Engleby by Sebastian Faulks.

  2. susan jones says:

    My fave five are Wind in the Willows, (it’s so relaxing and lovely) To kill a mockingbird, Tom Sawyer, Rebecca is my favorite Daphne de Maurier, and Middlemarch is good as well. Funny writing is great to read but hard to get right as you say….. I think one of the funniest books I’ve read lately is M.C. Beaton’s Agatha raisin stories. ‘The quiche of death’ was funny.

  3. indreamworld says:

    I agree, Sophie Kinsella’s books are definitely laugh out loud material, Becky Bloomwood for example in the Shopaholic series always has me in stitches!
    I’ve recently been reading Lindsay Kelk’s books which is the same type of genre, and Angela’s antics never fail to make me smile. Ditzy stuff like falling between two beds and popping up dazedly like a meerkat. Sounds like something I’d do! 😀

  4. gailaldwin says:

    The last book a read that made me chuckle was ‘Salmon Fishing in the Yemen’ – I’m not too sure they got the humour right in the film but anything featuring Ewan McGregor gets the thumbs up from me.

  5. Downith says:

    Funny IS hard to do well. I’m trying.

    Bridget Jones’s Diary was funny at the time – I don’t know if it has aged well or not. (Or whether I have for that matter!)

  6. Sara says:

    The last book I read that made me laugh out loud was Horrid Henry reads a Book by Francesca Simon which pokes wicked fun at literature for the younger reader. Sorry I haven’t got a grown up one – I need to lighten up!

  7. seegogga says:

    5 favourite books? How green was my valley ( llewwellyn). Peter Pan( JM Barrie), Heidi.( Joanna Spyri), Tale of two cities,( Charles Dickens). Up the down staircase (?) Then there is ‘die groot verlange’ ( the big longing) by Leon Rossouw, in my home language, Afrikaans.
    Funniest book? definitely Top Dog, by Thelwell

  8. Morton Gray says:

    Hi, really enjoying your blog.

    Funniest book = The Ex-Boyfriend’s Handbook by Matt Dunn.

    Top five – mmm difficult

    1. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
    2. Stargazing by Linda Gillard
    3. Eat,Pray,Love by Elizabeth Gilbert
    4. Starting Over by Sue Moorcroft
    5. Keeping the World Away by Margaret Forster

    I would find top ten easier!
    Mx

  9. Nick Johns says:

    For a book that I always return to if I need a laugh I would pick Nick Hornby’s High Fidelity – a lovely smooth meld of memoir, coming of age story, romantic comedy and geeky obsession fest.

  10. Lesley Smith says:

    Sue Townsend always makes me laugh out loud she’s a genius, if I have to choose one book I would go for Adrian Mole The Cappuccino Years

  11. Tracy Fells says:

    It’s been really interesting to read everyone’s favourite books. I must try ‘I capture the castle’ as heard so much about that one.
    Re your comp to win Sophie Kinsella book. I will say again that the funniest book I’ve ever read is ‘The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy’ by Douglas Adams.
    As I was searching through it yesterday for a quote I was still laughing at something on every page.

    • Tracy To my shame I’ve never read ‘Hitchhiker’s Guide’ – but it’s certainly on my list now! You let me know how you get on with ‘I Capture The Castle’ (JK Rowling’s favourite book, by the way) and I’ll let you know about Hitchhiker’s Guide..

      ________________________________

  12. jotiddyJ says:

    The book that made me fall off the sofa laughing most recently isn’t a novel, it was “How to be a Woman”, by Caitlin Moran (not all of its funny, some of it is quite harrowing). Other faves – A Place of Greater Safety (Hilary Mantel), Eva Luna (Allende), Pastoral (Neville Shute), The Far Pavilions (Kaye) and my guilty pleasure – Game of Thrones – all 800 books in the series! I have to say I loved The Help as well…..

  13. Brn2shop9 says:

    My favorite book is Undomestic Goddess because it was fun. It had great visualizations and would make an amazing movie.

    Brn2shop9 at gmail dot com. 

Leave a Reply

