Sunshine & Something Shady…

74497___gustavorezende___Kids_6_03A few things to tell you about, so here goes:

Readers’ Afternoon: Birmingham, 11th May 2013

If you live in the West Midlands or can get to central Birmingham on 11th May, you might be interested in this ‘readers’ afternoon’ (‘The Shock of Spring’ – great title), being run by Writing West Midlands.

It’s only £9 for an “afternoon of literature, discussion, and afternoon tea in the splendid setting of Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery’s Waterhall Gallery.” Four writers will be reading from – and talking about – their work.

More details here.

Printerpix ‘Sunshine’ Poetry Competition c/d 24th May

I’ve been asked to give this free poetry competition a bit of a plug, because last time I featured one of their comps, they had lots of entries from the blog!

It’s open to anyone in UK/Europe/USA. The winner will receive $100 worth of Amazon vouchers and a free canvas and the theme is ‘sunshine’. Entries must be no longer than 45 lines and must be original work. Competition closes Friday 24th May 2013. See here for more details and how to enter.

50 Shades of London’ – What do You Think?

This ‘opportunity to be published’ – at a cost of £50 – has been brought to my attention. It’s vanity publishing in all but name but the sad thing is, that there are so many people desperate to be published, that I reckon they will probably get their quota.

Have a look and see what you think (but please note, I am NOT endorsing this – just bringing it to your attention!)

Writing Magazine

And finally, the June 2013 issue of Writing magazine is out today (at least it is if you subscribe – probably a few days later in the shops) and I have an article on ‘using the news in your writing’ (‘Read All About It’) on page 41. Well, if I don’t blow my own trumpet, who else will?

P.S: Thanks for all your kind words about the recent mini saga competition. I will run another competition in due course and next time it will be DIFFERENT, I promise!

This entry was posted in Competitions, Good Causes, Poetry, West Midlands and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sunshine & Something Shady…

  1. I’ve read half of that article Helen and it’s great. I loved the way Ian went through the paper and picked out a story. I try and do that. Thanks for the links. Wouldn’t pay that though, not that desperate…

  2. Alice says:

    Thanks for the links, Helen – I’m looking forward to reading your article.
    I have to say that I’m very concerned by Fifty Shades of London – £50 submission charge and no royalties??… I’ve been tweeting about it and other writers have questioned them on their website – not much of a response from Endeavour Press yet though!

  3. Wendy Clarke says:

    Looking forward to reading your article, Helen – I always enjoy them. Three of my published storied have come from ideas from the papers.

  4. Carneika W says:

    Thanks for the links as usual 🙂 I’ve never been to a readers’ afternoon so I think I’m going to go and see..

  5. Tracy Fells says:

    My copy of WM has arrived and will look forward to reading your article Helen. Unfortunately, they all seem to come at one so ploughing through Writers’ Forum and The New Writer too!

  6. Edith says:

    am off to try and order Writing magazine. I tried to yesterday but couldn’t remember the proper name…….back to the newsagent with name printed out on paper today! Just a senior moment! I love your smiley sunshine! :0 xxx

  7. I thought I’d add a little more cheer today, Helen, by giving you the Sunshine Blog Award! Brilliant blog…

  8. Julia says:

    Just entered the ‘sunshine’ comp. Never written a poem before!

Leave a Reply

