Just Like Buses…

tabNo, don’t get excited. I haven’t suddenly had a brace (ooh, nice word) of acceptances from Take A Break, after a lifetime of rejections.

Instead, I have subscribed to Take A Break Fiction Feast, following the advice I often hand out (and therefore, should probably heed), that if you want to write for a particular magazine, you need to READ it and study the stories.

The first issue was waiting for me when I got back from holiday and the day after I finished reading it from cover to cover – ie: today – the next issue arrived! There it is (above), still in its packaging! And Writing magazine (September’s!!) arrived too. Ooh, do you ever get stressed, thinking about all the reading you’ve got to do? (And this is why I hardly read any books these days! I have too many magazines to read!)

And what have I discovered about ‘what Take A Break wants’? Hmm.. well, it’s hard to say! The stories are all so varied! (Helpful?)

Writing Competitions for Unpublished Writers. Closing date: 31/08/2013

I stumbled across a lovely writing competition for unpublished writers (anywhere in the world), on t’internet the other day.

Best-selling romantic novelist Miranda Dickinson, who’s a member of the RNA (Romantic Novelists’ Assocation) and who seems like a very nice person, (generous with her advice, tips and competitions), is running the ‘New Rose Prize‘ for the second time and there are plenty of opportunities for unpublished writers to submit their work by 31st August.

I suppose this will rule quite a lot of us out, soooo if you are ‘unpublished’ (and see the competition guidelines for what Miranda means by that), then this is a great opportunity and definitely worth go.

There are 5 different categories to choose from: Crime, Literary Fiction, Romantic Comedy, Young Adult or First Chapter of a novel and you can enter as many as you like, as long as you send each entry on a separate email.

And it’s free to enter! And there are prizes! So, what are you waiting for…?! (Good luck and let me know if you’re going to enter!)

And In Other News…

I got stung by something (I think it was a bee, but it flew off) yesterday and that’s the first time in my life I’ve ever been stung! I waited for anaphylactic shock to kick in, as you do. But no, I was OK. Sloshed a bit of soap and water on the painful finger (tip from Google) and that seemed to do the trick!

This entry was posted in Competitions, Magazines and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Just Like Buses…

  1. Wendy Clarke says:

    Hope my two stories in FF were helpful, Helen 🙂
    Talking about being stung, I keep being chased by horse flies when I walk Bonnie by the river… they’re hateful!

    • Yes, Wendy, I enjoyed your stories – and was rather wistful when I saw you had TWO in there! well done you. not had time to read the next issue yet, though. Horse flies are horrible. We don’t have any of those but then again, we don’t have a river either…!

  2. Edith says:

    Sorry about your bee sting! Hooray for goggle!! And thanks for the link to the competition. It’s great to find one with no entry fee. And yes too to having way too many mags waiting to be read. Sometimes I wonder if I really just ought to cancel them all and remove all this ‘stress’ from my life!! 🙂

  3. ann harrison says:

    Thankyou for mag competition. Will check it out. Received my September Writing magazine yesterday, finished it late this afternoon. As for the bee sting, ouch!

  4. Tracy Fells says:

    So glad you said that about reading piling up & mags do all seem to turn up at once. I’ve just tidied up my bookshelves to stack all books still to be read – it’s scary, but also I guess a nice part of being a writer. As settling down with a book or mag can always be considered research (well that’s what I tell my family!). And you’re right about TAK – the variety is enormous so keep trying even with stories rejected elsewhere. Sometimes something a bit unusual or even downright weird can take their fancy…

  5. KH says:

    Thanks for the info, Helen and hope the sting is better. Re: TAB FF I’ve been reading it for ages now and really can’t get a handle on what is required as, like you say, the stories are so varied. Every time I think I understand what they’re looking for the next issue seems to have a completely different style to the stories. I thought it was just my lack of ability to analyse! I’ve been submitting – or bunging – stuff at them for over three years. I’ve had one much celebrated hit! It went into the monthly Special TAB mag. I thought it was the beginning of better things but nothing since. Let’s hope now you’re subscribing they think it only fair to buy some of your work. Good luck and good wishes. KH

  6. KH says:

    Hi Helen – not sure if this will read but several of my posts on other subjects aren’t showing. Just thought I’d let you know in case others are having the same problem. Good wishes KH

  7. Philippa says:

    Thanks for the comp tip, I might well try and enter, but will let you know whether I manage it or not. I’m amazed you’ve never been stung before – I have a very early memory of being stung as a small child and have had a huge variety of stings since, with no noticeable effects until a couple of years ago when my whole hand swelled up and I couldn’t type! You’ll get there with TAK – visualise your story in there!

Leave a Reply

