Thinking About Meditating

boonemonthlycompI am back from sunny Spain and it feels like I’ve been away for ages…!

Here are the stats from my holiday:

• Hours of tennis played: 20
• Number of blisters: 2 (new trainers. Big mistake).
• Books read*: 3 (a record!)
• Books enjoyed*: 3 (even more of a record!)
• Number of story acceptances on my return: 0 (Booo!)
• Number of story rejections on my return: 0 (Ah well, that’s not so bad then).

But I did have some good news on the ‘writing front’: I’m finally getting paid the £500 for my children’s story that’s appearing in the Mumsnet Bedtime Story Book AND I’ve had an invitation to the launch in London, next week! My first ever ‘literary launch’, darling!

And, my ‘Newsfront’ piece was chosen by Writers Forum as this month’s winner, so I’ve got a year’s free subscription to the magazine, worth £38.

*Books that I read:

Tracy Chevalier’s ‘The Last Runaway’ (a historical novel that’s not boring and keeps you guessing until the end – oh, and teaches you something too);

Liane Moriarty’s ‘The Husband’s Secret’ – a contemporary novel set in Australia, with lots of characters which gets a bit confusing at times – especially as two of the older women are called ‘Lucy’ and ‘Rachel’ which, to me, are ‘young’ names – but it held my interest, it makes you think and at the end, I found myself blubbing my eyes out (and I’m still not quite sure why!)

The Great Gatsby’, for old times’ sake. It’s slow for the first third but then it’s a beautiful read. Someone told me the (new) film is very close to the novel, so I want to see that now.

Writers Bureau Competition

Just time to flag up the latest Writers Bureau competition. This time they want you to write a caption for a photograph (that photograph up there – but a bigger version) and the prize is a Freelance Journalism Course. It’s free to enter and you can enter from anywhere in the world but be quick – the closing date is 30th September.

Meditating

Before I went on holiday I wrote an article about ‘Meditation and Mindfulness for Writers’. It’s something I’ve been thinking about for a long time. Ever since, in fact, a tutor on a writing course told us she had started to meditate and that it had ‘changed her life’.

I didn’t feel very relaxed when I wrote the article, I must admit, as it was all very last minute (not like me at all), but during the course of my ‘research’, I came across this rather nifty little video on YouTube, which gives you a ‘taster’ and shows you how to meditate in a minute.

So if, like me, you’ve ever wanted to try meditating (and haven’t got much time!), then have a look. And tell me how you feel at the end of it.

This entry was posted in Books, Competitions and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Thinking About Meditating

  1. Sounds like a blissful break to me! Hope the blisters subside soon. I’m off walking in Wales at the weekend, can’t wait to get out and about doing something different for a few days.

    I’ve actually been to a writing workshop where we were taught to meditate by a Shaolin monk. Throughout the session he would take over from the writing tutor and instruct us on breathing and mindfulness. He had a little bell, he used to direct us.

    Only a few of the twelve strong couldn’t get on with it, which was a shame. I personally got a lot out of the day.

    Thank you for sharing news of the competition.
    Have a good week. 🙂

  2. Julia says:

    Lots of exciting writing news! As we have discussed elsewhere, I’m really pleased that you’ve written the article extolling the benefits of meditation. I can definitely recommend it. As we have also discussed, I am developing another workshop in my series of yoga events, this time on mindfulness for creative souls. When it’s ready to go, I shall post details on my blog. Namaste.

  3. cathos says:

    Well done on Mumsnet and the lunch sounds exciting. I will definitely have a look at the youtube meditation – it’s something I keep meaning to do – but don’t have the time, so it sounds ideal!

  4. Downith says:

    Well done on the mumsnet!

    Ommmmmmmm.

  5. networksue says:

    Hi Helen, thanks for the uplifting blog and the meditation in a moment! I just tried the minute (very stressed with house move right now) and feel much calmer and appreciative. Best wishes, Sue

    • Glad you liked it Sue. It’s amazing how much better you can feel after only a minute, isn’t it? I really want to try doing it ‘properly’ – ie: for 5 or 10 minutes at a time. But I don’t seem to have time…! No excuse. I need to MAKE time!

      ________________________________

  6. Wendy Clarke says:

    20 hours of tennis! I think I need a lie down at the thought. Glad you had a good holiday, Helen, and no rejections.

    • How discrete (discreet??) of you not to mention the ‘no acceptances’, Wendy! Thank you! (Maybe I should just forget about writing and play tennis until my limbs give out!)

      ________________________________

  7. Linda says:

    How serendipitous! I found this post when I came home from the dentist after having a filling without an anaesthetic injection. How did I manage to be so brave? Easy. I just relaxed and meditated while the dentist worked. I think I’ll have to send him that lovely little video. Afterwards, he told me he gets really nervous about treating patients who refuse the injections in case he hurts them.
    I used to meditate every day, but somehow I got out of the habit. But it’s a skill you never forget and it does come in handy in times of stress!

    • Ooh, you are clever Linda! Wish I could do that. I try to ‘relax’ in the dentist’s chair but then he always spoils it by saying things like ‘Are you alright?’ (I must be so still he thinks I’m dead!!)

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

