On National Poetry Day, Here’s a Little Giveaway!

Mumsnet bookJust look at that title – it’s a poem!

Sorry I’ve been ‘AWOL’ for a little while. I hate it when people tell you how busy they are, so all I’ll say is AAAAAGH. There, that’s better.

Now, to make up for my naughty non-posting, I’ve got a little giveaway for you.

A little while ago – you might remember – I was one of the 10 winners of the Mumsnet/Walkers Books short story competition.

I went to London yesterday for the launch of the book (‘The Book of Bedtime Stories’), which contains the 10 winning stories. I felt like such a country bumpkin. It’s years since I’ve been to London on my own and now that I live out ‘in the sticks’, well, it was all a bit of a shock to the system.

It was rush hour when I arrived in Paddington and I just couldn’t work out how to get from the Bakerloo line to the Northern line. It was hot and busy and my brain just wouldn’t work. It was blank. In the end, I had to ask a nice, helpful train man chap. If I hadn’t, to be honest, I think I’d still be roaming around the Underground now, with the buskers.

I met most of the other writers at the launch, which was fun although it was a shame that Frann Preston-Gannon, the clever lady who did the illustrations for my story, wasn’t there, as I’d like to have told her how much I liked her pictures.

If you’d like to win a copy of the book (it’s hardback, aimed at children 7 and under and would make a lovely Christmas present!), just leave a comment and tell me who you’d like to give the book to. I’ll pick a winner at random after the closing date, which is a week today – midnight on 10th October. And if the answer is ‘I’d like to keep it for myself!’ that’s absolutely fine. The giveaway is open to all but just one entry per person please!

National Poetry Day

As I’m sure you are aware, today is National Poetry Day and the theme for this year is ‘Water’. We had some fun in my class today, messing about – not in a river, but with lots of poems about water.

If you’d like a little flavour of National Poetry Day, here’s Boris Johnson – Mayor, of course of London town (do you like the way I’ve made that link?) reading an extract from Coleridge’s ‘The Rime of The Ancient Mariner’, which includes that lovely line about water everywhere. It suits his booming, posh voice rather well.

This entry was posted in Books, Competitions, Poetry, Successes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to On National Poetry Day, Here’s a Little Giveaway!

  1. cathaber1 says:

    I’d like to win the book for my friend Owen, who will be 7 this month and loves stories.

  2. CLARE BASKOTT says:

    I’d love to win the book. I’d give the book to my lovely daughter Florence, who aged 7 wrote her first beautiful poem so enthusiastically yesterday.

  3. Susie says:

    Hi Helen, I would like to win a copy of the book for my daughter, Charlotte (age 5).

  4. Julia says:

    I’d like to give the book to my grandson,Callum, 6. He’d love me to read the book to him when he comes to stay during the school holidays. We could also read the book together, taking a page each until eventually he can read it to my younger grandson Hayden who at only 1 and a half already thinks his older brother is wonderful and likes to copy all that he does. Julia

  5. KH says:

    Hi Helen, I’d love to win a copy of the book to read your story and all the stories to my lovely Godson Dan aged 4.

  6. olivespastavino says:

    I’d like to win the book for my lovely new granddaughter. She already loves books at only 6 months old, her mother (my daughter) reads to her every night before bedtime which I think is wonderful. Ninette

  7. Wendy Clarke says:

    I’d love a copy of your book to read to my three grandchildren. The cover looks lovely.

  8. Carneika W says:

    I’d love a copy for my cousin. She’s four, but so clever for her age. She loves being read to before bed.

  9. banksywrites says:

    I’m the first, but will I be the only one, to say I’d like to keep it for myself? Partly because I don’t know any children under seven, but partly because I’m still a child at heart. Or perhaps it’s because I like collecting the published works of my friends? If I win, though, I will go out and find some children to read it to 🙂

  10. seegogga says:

    What a wonderful thing to dream about: A book full of bedtimestories. As I love stories, especially children’s stories, I definitely would love to have one. I will enjoy it first and then I will give it to my twin grandsons, aged 2 and a half. Both of them love stories and books with pictures a lot and their mummy, my daughter, can read it to them at night.

  11. Bill says:

    Hello – well done again on being one of the ten winners! Sounds like a marvellous book.
    I would share it with my little grandson, Sam. He is four, although he will tell you he is four and three quarters. He loves his bedtime stories, and it’s not the first time I’ve fallen asleep before him!
    Here’s hoping!

  12. julielees says:

    Hi Helen! I would love to share this book with Ben, my grandson, who will be five in a couple of weeks. Would be nice to read with him when he comes to stay over.

  13. Don’t put me in the draw, Helen (I don’t know any young children) – I just wanted to say congratulations on your first book launch and may there be many more!

  14. Congratulations! The book looks fantastic. I would love a copy to give to my gorgeous godson, James, though first, I’d make sure I had a good read of it myself!

  15. Shelley White says:

    Hi there
    Sounds a super book! I’d love to give it to my two little great nieces of four & six!

  16. Lisa J says:

    I’d love this book for my mum! One of her greatest pleasures is reading to her grandchildren at bedtime. This book looks fantastic and I’m sure would make many special memories for her and all the grandchildren.

  17. POLYT says:

    Hi Helen,
    I know a little boy named Callum who would love this book. He is six and our neighbour’s son and every Thursday evening has tea with his Granny . After tea she reads to him and he loves it. Living in the far north of Scotland our access to different kinds of books is very limited so this would be a real treat for him.

Leave a Reply

