Mad About … NaNoWriMo!

Mad about the boyHello, I am BACK! Hurrah!

OK, I came back to rain, wind and that blasted St Jude storm (which actually missed us, so I shouldn’t complain) but the weather in Portugal wasn’t all that great (only 2 days of real sunshine), so it’s not too much of a shock to the system! (Every cloud has a silver lining and all that).

And I did get time to read the new Bridget Jones book, ‘Mad About The Boy’ (sadly not ‘v.v.good’ but I still enjoyed it and I’m looking forward to the film).

For ‘New’ Writers

Now, ‘new’ writers, I have 2 pieces of important competition news for you:

1) If you’ve earned less than £500 in 2013 from short stories, then you count as a ‘New Writer’ as far as Nottingham Writers are concerned and you are eligible to enter their first ‘national’ short story competition, which closes on 31st January 2014. There’s a £5 entry fee but there are cash prizes. See the website for more information.

2) Another writers’ group – Erewash Writers – have a competition for newbies and this one is FREE to enter. The prize is a short story correspondence course (either by post or email) and the closing date is 5th December.

And In Other News..

My writing buddy Sally has news on her blog of another free short story competition – this time the theme is ‘romance’ – but it must have a seaside setting… my fellow blogger Tracy Fells has won the Hysteria 2013 short story competition!

(Results aren’t on the website yet because it was only announced today). Well done, Tracy. I entered that competition and wasn’t even shortlisted, so I’m impressed. I’m sure Tracy will be blogging about it soon and we’ll be able to read her story on-line.

And, just in time for Hallowe’en – and only until 2nd November – you can download Kath McGurl’s fabulous ‘Ghost Stories And How To Write Them’ for FREE (and don’t say ‘I haven’t got a Kindle!’ Neither have I but somehow I managed to put Kindle on my PC and I download books that way).

And finally, the title of this post was intended to ‘fire me up’ for the month-long slog joy that is NaNoWriMo! Is anyone else doing ‘NaNoWriMo’?! I am and this time it’s NOT going to be rubbish! Honest. It’s only 1667 words a day, after all. For 30 days. Really. How hard can that be?

2013-Participant-Vertical-Banner

This entry was posted in Books, Competitions and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Mad About … NaNoWriMo!

  1. Wendy Clarke says:

    Great to have you back, Helen. Sorry to hear the weather wasn’t too good but hope you had a lovely time anyway. Brilliant news about our blogging friend Tracy – what a clever girl (we’ll be celebrating with tea cakes next week!).

  2. Jenny Roman says:

    Good luck with NANO! 🙂

  3. Tracy Fells says:

    Welcome back, Helen, and thanks for the mention. Will let you know when they put up the story – and will be blogging too. Good luck with NaNo – I did it in 2011, but never again! It was far too tough a challenge, even though I hit 50K words I’ve never finished the novel, ahh and can’t even bear to look at it.

    • I know what you mean, Tracy. I did it twice and haven’t dared look at the ‘result’!! but this time I’m going to try to come out with something ‘cohesive’ (is that even a word??!). Anyway, you know what I mean. I’m going to TRY, anyway! Last night I dreamed up a whole plot but I’ve forgotten it now! doh!

  4. kathmcgurl says:

    Welcome back and thanks for the Ghost Stories plug!

  5. olivespastavino says:

    Sorry to hear about the weather in Portugal…next time make it Le Marche Italy! I’ve signed up but not pressed the button for NaNo. I’ve never done it before and don’t think I’ll manage to complete 50,000 words but I did think it might give me a kick start…I have an idea…but that’s all!

  6. ann harrison says:

    Yes, I am in for NaNoWriMo. My first time. Wish me luck I think I am going to need it.
    Thanks for Ghost stories plug.

  7. Philippa says:

    Hope you got to taste some excellent Portuguese food on your trip to make up for the iffy weather!
    Thanks for yet more comp news. And especially for the NaNo reminder – I’ve signed up for the first time ever thanks to you; I’ve vaguely contemplated it before, but got no further, but when I saw your post I decided to take the plunge…it’s very daunting, but I do like a deadline.
    I also just got in entries to the Writer’s Bureau and Words with Jam comps, again thanks to your posts: if I should ever win one of those money jackpots, I’ll have to pay you a commission!

  8. Hi Helen, I’m nanoing here.http://nanowrimo.org/dashboard good luck, got to go, words to write.

  9. Nanowrimo, what a name!
    But never mind, I’ll play the game.
    I’ve made a start, in faltering prose,
    And inspiration comes and goes –
    But while I have the will to write
    I’ll keep on going through the night-
    Damaged love my central theme,
    And echoes of what might have been….

    Good luck to everyone else who is having a go. I think it may be easy to write 1667 lousy words a day, but cogent words…I don’t think so!

  10. charliebritten says:

    I’ve often thought about NaNoWriMo but never got further than that. Working full time, I knew I just couldn’t do it. And, right on cue, today I discovered I have a teaching observation next week.

  11. Bill Strachan says:

    Hello Helen – Trust this is the correct email address for you. You might be interested in this competition. You’ll find it within the link. This writers’ group meet in Inverness………….now have you ever been there

    Regards………….Bill

    http://www.highlandlitsalon.com/competition2013.asp

    • Thanks for this, Bill – I’ll put it on the blog properly, in the next few days.
      And actually, yes, I have been to Inverness! My partner is Scottish and his family live up in Forres.. fancy that, eh?!

  12. edgarmillion says:

    Wow. I can’t imagine being able to write 50,000 words in a month. I think my brain would fry (admittedly, I do have other commitments). Best of luck though.

Leave a Reply

