Remembrance Sunday: Write & Win Tickets to special ‘War Horse’ Event

war horseNow, shussh.. I’m not supposed to be here. I’m supposedly taking part in NaNoWriMo, so I should be writing my 50,000 word novel NOW!

I am too embarrassed to tell you how many of the 6,667 words that I’m supposed to have written – on Day 4 of the challenge – I have actually managed but it’s a low figure. Very low.

I won’t bore you with details but I’ve been away from Saturday morning until 2pm this afternoon and I’ve had stuff to do and, well, enough of the excuses. I’m meeting up with my writing buddy Sally tomorrow and she’s doing NaNo too, so we can compare notes (in my case, it won’t take long).

So, I shouldn’t be here but I couldn’t resist the opportunity to tell you about a lovely little writing competition that I spotted in yesterday’s Independent on Sunday.

If you fancy taking 3 friends or family members to London on Sunday 10th November (Remembrance Sunday) to attend a special ‘War Horse*’ event called ‘Anthems for Peace’ then all you have to do is complete this sentence: “We should remember the First World War because…” in fewer than 100 words and email it to Remember@independent.co.uk no later than midnight on 7th November.

The 2 best entries will receive 4 tickets (NB: there’s no travel included) to the show, which includes Michael Morpurgo reading from and discussing War Horse and a reading by Virginia McKenna of Morpurgo’s story The Best Christmas Present in the World accompanied by songs and carols by Voices at the Door.

Right, now that you all have your ‘homework’, I have to go….!

But just time to say, hurrah, finally, some good news on the writing front: I’ve won Erewash Writers Open Short Story competition with my story ‘Heroes, Just for One Day’. It’s not the Nobel Prize for Literature, I know, but I am chuffed! (The story’s not on the site yet but it will be soon!)

*War Horse. I haven’t read the book, seen the film OR been to the stage show. 😦

This entry was posted in Competitions, Newspapers, Short Stories, Successes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Remembrance Sunday: Write & Win Tickets to special ‘War Horse’ Event

  1. Jenny Roman says:

    Congrats on your win! And many thanks for the info on the comp – ‘War Horse’ the book is fab, the film (in my humble opinion) a sickly adaptation – but I know lots of people loved it. The stage version looks tremendous.

    Good luck with Nano – you can do it 🙂

  2. Wendy Clarke says:

    Well done on a brilliant win, Helen.

  3. Bill says:

    Well done on the Erewash competition! great news……you desreve it.

  4. seegogga says:

    Congratulations! I would love to read some of your work

  5. KH says:

    Well done, Helen! Great comments from the judges too. Good wishes. Kath KH

  6. Julia says:

    Here is another ‘when I was at Cheltenham story’: When I was at Cheltenham, Joey the horse from the stage show made a guest appearance. He arrived in a horse box and was so lifelike that people were flinching as he trotted by in case he kicked out. I’ve read the book (but have no desire to see the filim) and really wish I could go to this event.

    • wow, Julia, that sounds great! I wish I could go to the event too but I’ve decided not to enter. I’ve been away from home so much recently that I just need to stay PUT for a while and catch up on everything (I still haven’t finished unpacking from my holiday to Portugal! How bad is that…! )

  7. Tracy Fells says:

    I have read and seen the stage show War Horse – if anyone wins the tickets then my top tip is take a bucket full of hankies! It is great show, but I thought the book was much better story. Michael Murpugo is a wonderful writer and you don’t need children to read him. Recently saw the play of The Butterfly Lion – and again cried. He knows how to tug on the heart strings, but often in positive way too.

  8. julielees says:

    Congratulations, Helen. Can you let us know when the story is available to read? Read the judge’s comments and now intrigued.

  9. Linda says:

    Congrats on your win, looking forward to reading your story. I entered this comp but didn’t even make the long list 😦

  10. philippabowe says:

    Way to go Helen! Well done, I look forward to reading it on the site.
    As for Nano, I’m sure your wordcount can’t be as low as mine – every day so far, not one but several unavoidable obligations have reared their ugly heads and writing time gets pushed to the back of the queue…but I remain optimistic! And am enjoying the little writing I have done…

  11. banksywrites says:

    Great story, Helen. I chuckled at the humour and what a lovely ending. Well done.

Leave a Reply

