Authors for The Philippines

authors for philippinesLots of people have blogged/tweeted about this so apologies if you’ve already seen it but I promised to mention it on the blog and it may be that you’re one of the few people who doesn’t yet know about ‘Authors For The Philippines’.

It’s a way of raising funds to help the aid work in The Philippines following the devastation caused by Typhoon Haiyan.

Click here for an index of over 470 items that are being offered by writers, agents, publishers and editors and which you can bid for (for yourself or as a Christmas present, perhaps?!) Lunch with a literary agent! An author visit! An on-line writing course or manuscript critique ..and much, much more!. Scroll down to see the page change. and hurry, because the bidding’s only open until this Wednesday 20th November.

And finally, I’ve been meaning to post this for ages and now seems like as good a time as any:

Wise Words from Author Maeve Binchy

As you probably know, the lovely and talented Irish writer, Maeve Binchy, (a natural storyteller if ever there was one), died last year. As well as her sixteen novels (more than 40 million books sold worldwide) and dozens of short stories, Maeve left behind some advice, which she gave to her niece, Sarah but I think it’s worth sharing:

“Learn to type. Learn to drive. Have fun. Write postcards. (Letters take too long and you won’t do it, a postcard takes two minutes.) Be punctual. Don’t worry about what other people are thinking. They are not thinking about you…Get up early. See the world. Call everybody by their first name, from doctors to presidents. Have parties. Don’t agonise. Don’t regret. Don’t fuss. Never brood. Move on. Don’t wait for permission to be happy. Don’t wait for permission to do anything. Make your own life.”

I’m not very good at sending postcards, having parties, getting up early or being punctual but I’m working on them..! How about you?

This entry was posted in Good Causes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Authors for The Philippines

  1. carolwarham says:

    Such excellent advice. We should have it pinned up around the house always.

  2. olivespastavino says:

    I’m not keen on calling everyone by their first name, (old teachers, headmasters, etc., though most of mine are long gone). I do write postcards but very occasionally, more likely that I’ll send an email and I do plenty of those.

    …Don’t agonise. Don’t regret. Don’t fuss. Never brood…

    These are traits that I definitely have and it’s a battle to ‘move on’ but I do try hard. (I’m very trying). We have a family saying, ‘Do things that make you happy’ I think that’s what I’m aiming for these days, so I’m off to clean the house. Well, I’ll be happy when it’s done!

  3. olivespastavino says:

    I also took a look at the Philippines link…so many things to choose from! I’ll be dipping in and out all day. When I’ve finished the housework of course 🙂

  4. There are a few people I write to because they don’t have email. Postcards are a good idea. Anything to save time. Lovely words of wisdom. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Maeve is one of my fave’s. Great bits of information, no wonder she wrote great books.

  6. Unbelievably, when I published Blood-Tied as a hardback, I got a congrats postcard from none other than Elizabeth George! I’d written to tell her how much her book Write Away had helped me. It has to be said, having a postcard means a lot more than an email would have, though I hadn’t really thought about it until reading Maeve’s words!

  7. Wendy Clarke says:

    I drive, write postcards, have fun, am very punctual, don’t have parties, worry a lot about what people think. I sometimes agonise but don’t regret, fuss or brood. Oh, and I don’t know about calling everybody by their first name, but I hate cold callers who say, “Hello, Wendy…” – no, actually you don’t know me; I am Mrs Clarke to you!

  8. philippabowe says:

    I didn’t know about the Authors for the Philippines initiative (head in nano I suppose, not that you can tell from my wordcount!) and by the time I saw this post (still not getting notifications!) and went to look it was all over.
    I love nearly all the Maeve Binchy advice: I’m not convinced about the postcards, I find them pretty unsatisfactory to write and receive on the whole; I try to be punctual but fail almost every time, and I’d probably be driven out the country (France) if I tried calling everyone by their first name (much more formal linguistically – all that “vous”-ing). But I’m forced into getting up early by the demands of getting rural teens on a school bus before it’s even light, and I’m totally for the having fun, not worrying, seeing the world, etc. and do manage quite a lot of it, including having parties – a huge one planned for the upcoming significant birthday!

    • I NEVER write postcards – especially not on holiday (too busy enjoying myself!!) but a friend of mine – Chris, if you’re reading this – always sends postcards, written in her lovely handwriting, from wherever she goes. It’s rather nice – but makes me feel horribly guilty that I don’t repay the courtesy!! I think it’s partly because I can’t actually write any more! I’m so used to typing (and it’s quicker for me because I did follow Maeve’s excellent advice to ‘learn to type’), that I get frustrated with hand writing – it’s too slow and messy!

Leave a Reply

