The Green-Eyed Monster!

croc-eye-300x235No, this isn’t another post about ‘writing gremlins’! (although mine is still alive and kicking – is yours?!)

Firstly, just to say… don’t forget, if you’re intending to enter my FREE 100 word story/poem competition – see details here – then you’ve only got until midnight tonight (1st March, GMT) to email your entry.

I’ve had over 50 entries so far and I’ve really enjoyed reading them! And, not surprisingly, (because I am a ‘pantser’ myself – as in ‘seat of my pants’), there’s a last minute rush, with people zapping their stories and poems in like crazy things today!

I’ll be announcing a longlist and a shortlist and then the eventual winner and runner-up, so keep your eye on the blog!

‘Our Generation’ – Reversible Poem By 14-year Old

It’s an internet sensation – and very impressive – but if you’re one of the few people who still hasn’t seen this poem by 14-year old Jordan Nichols (yes, that’s all he is), have a read here and see what you think.

You read the poem one way to start – and then in reverse. Well, I won’t say any more, I’ll just let the poem speak for itself:

Our Generation

Our generation will be known for nothing.
Never will anybody say,
We were the peak of mankind.
That is wrong, the truth is
Our generation was a failure.
Thinking that
We actually succeeded
Is a waste. And we know
Living only for money and power
Is the way to go.
Being loving, respectful, and kind
Is a dumb thing to do.
Forgetting about that time,
Will not be easy, but we will try.
Changing our world for the better
Is something we never did.
Giving up
Was how we handled our problems.
Working hard
Was a joke.
We knew that
People thought we couldn’t come back
That might be true,
Unless we turn things around

Unless we turn things around
That might be true,
People thought we couldn’t come back
We knew that
Was a joke.
Working hard
Was how we handled our problems.
Giving up
Is something we never did.
Changing our world for the better
Will not be easy, but we will try.
Forgetting about that time,
Is a dumb thing to do.
Being loving, respectful, and kind
Is the way to go.
Living only for money and power
Is a waste. And we know
We actually succeeded
Thinking that
Our generation was a failure.
That is wrong, the truth is
We were the peak of mankind.
Never will anybody say,
Our generation will be known for nothing.

Writer Envy?

I bet there are more than a few of us who wish we could have written a poem that good, at that age, And while we’re on the subject of ‘the green-eyed monster’, I’m writing an article on the subject, inspired mainly by this outrageous article.

What do you think? Sour grapes, or does the author have a point? And would you ever admit to something that I’m sure we all suffer from: writer envy?!

This entry was posted in Competitions, Poetry, Successes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Green-Eyed Monster!

  1. Keith Havers says:

    Good job you reminded me about the competition, Helen. I’d got it in my head the closing date was the 31st not the 1st.

  2. Wendy Clarke says:

    I dont think I suffer from writer envy. When I was just starting out and saw the names of the regulars in magazines, I wasn’t jealous – it just made me more determined to one day be one of them.

    • Wendy, yes I know what you mean. I think you can use ‘possible envy’ in a good way by turning it around into something that motivates and inspires you. Probably depends on the type of person you are too!

  3. philippabowe says:

    I hadn’t heard of the poem so thanks for reproducing it: sounds like an amazing 14 year old! And that article is indeed outrageous, it sounds almost like she wrote it when really drunk or something, with her brain not properly in gear. I don’t think I suffer from writer’s envy. I will sometimes read a novel and wonder why it has been so well received and been showered with accolades by the literary press, but the freedom to write is not selective.

  4. Liz P says:

    JK Rowling cared enough to try to conceal her identity once and it was thrown back in her face by those she trusted. At the time she talked about how liberating it was for that brief period to be an ‘unknown’ writer, perhaps motivated by the well documented imbalance of male to female celebrated crime writers. Surely this is evidence enough that JK Rowling would like to keep the ‘hype’ at bay, and after being targetted by the press so relentlessly, her children included, why should she have to defend herself against accusations of attention-grabbing behaviour? I would like to think that what Shepherd is frustrated about is the hype and publicity that surrounds anything that JK Rowling does rather than JK Rowling herself. Perhaps there is a saturation which means no other talent gets a look in. This certainly seems to be true of the music industry and may be it is also happening within literature?? However, like music, there are plenty of people out there who will still seek out the obscure and the raw talent rather than stick to what is in the charts, myself included. May be Shepherd should read some of JK Rowling’s books before casting judgement. I wonder what she thinks about Hilary Mantel?

  5. piarve says:

    Haha yeah I wish I wrote that too. As a person who writes and makes clothing, when I see something amazing I think to myself ‘Wow I wish I thought of that’ but never in a vindictive envious way, I just see it as something to add to my mood-board to inspire me for the next project I may be working on. A lot of our creativity comes from what we have been exposed to, topped off with a personal twist.

    I skipped straight to the poem and saw he was 14 years old after reading it and I am impressed. I have been told a few times that when you are writing sometimes its best to think like a child. The message is powerful yet written so simple in a very clever way.

  6. I remember reading that poem and feeling my jaw drop and my insides clench.
    What INCREDIBLE talent. ^_6

  7. staciajoy says:

    I think every writer experiences writer envy at some point or other. It didn’t bite me after reading this poem – I was too numbed by the amazingness to feel anything else – but I certainly have been bitten by it before. It’s not fun, but it’s part of being human, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

