‘Anyone For Swanwick?’ Win A Place!

SwanwickI started this post a few days ago and it went like this:

I am writing this deep in the heart of rural Shropshire, where we have rented a (gorgeous!) cottage for a few nights. Just time for a quick post before we crack open the bubbly, light the wood burner and stick the lasagne in the oven. We’ve brought the dog and she’s in heaven: this is pheasant central!

But that’s as far as I got. (Shhh.. between you and me, I was in a potentially perfect writer’s retreat but as I was there ‘en famille’, it would have been a bit antisocial of me. You know how it is. Shame, though…)

And now we are back! Ah well, we had a good time and I can highly recommend both these cottages and this fantastic (dog-friendly!) pub, where the food was so good, we went back 3 times!

Swanwick Writers’ Summer School 2014

Right, now that ‘mini break’ is over, I’m starting to think about my next holiday.

Is anyone going to Swanwick (9th – 15th August) in Derbyshire this year?

I’m hoping to, although I haven’t actually booked my place yet. To be honest, I’m hoping that I might WIN it!

The organisers of Swanwick (reportedly the oldest residential writers’ school in the world), hold annual writing competitions and the first prize in each is a fully-inclusive place at the Swanwick Writers’ Summer School, worth over £400. Not bad, eh?

This year there’s a short story, a children’s story and a poetry competition – all on the theme of ‘Unsung Hero’ – and there’s also a special competition category – the Deric Longden Memorial Prize – for writers who are also carers. They are looking for humorous entries on any topic and of no more than 500 words.

The closing date for all competitions is 30th April 2014.

It costs £5 to enter each of the competitions and I assume, if you want to and prepared to pay the fee, you can enter as many as you like – or that you qualify for (you need to be a carer, obviously, for the Deric Longden competition). All the details are here.

(And if you don’t live too far from Swanwick but can’t manage the whole week, they do ‘day rates’ and ‘part-time’ rates too).

Maybe see you there?!

This entry was posted in Blogging, Short Stories, West Midlands and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to ‘Anyone For Swanwick?’ Win A Place!

  1. shirharb says:

    I’ve won a place there twice!

  2. Wendy Clarke says:

    I like the idea, but I don’t think I could be sociable for a whole week!

  3. I’ve booked a place and entered the competition – I believe if you win (& I’m not holding my breath!) and have already booked then the cost of the holiday is refunded.

  4. Tracy Fells says:

    I won my first visit to Swanwick, Helen, so worth entering the competition. Last year a friend came second in the Children’s story too. Can’t make it this year due to teen son’s A’level results – also think it would be too samey 3 years running! Have a great time if you do go.

  5. I’ve just done my entry – skin of the teeth job yet again.

Leave a Reply

