Poems That Make You Cry + ‘Giveaway’ Results

Poems That Make Grown MenHere’s something to do on a (so far) sunny Bank Holiday morning, as you sit at the breakfast table waiting for the dog to be delivered back from the dog sitter.

Leave your latest acquisition, ‘Poems That Make Grown Men Cry’ on the table and watch, amazed, as your own Grown Man picks it up and starts to read it.

And no, he doesn’t cry.

But YOU do, when he decides to read Derek Walcott’s ‘Love After Love’ to you.

In ‘Poems That Make Grown Men Cry’ (which I can highly recommend!), it’s chosen by the actor Tom Hiddleston, who says “In the madness and mayhem of modern life…this poem reminds me of a basic truth: that we are, as we are, ‘enough’.”

I thought that was rather nice.

Now then, to the winners of my little book giveaway. Yes, winnerS, plural. I realised that I already had ‘Write A Novel And Get It Published’ on my shelf, so I’m giving that one away as a second prize.

Thank you for all your interesting comments and book suggestions. I was intrigued by the variety of books you’re all reading and there are definitely a few that you’ve mentioned that I’m adding to my (long) list.

First name out of the hat, was Catherine Rose Davis, who wins the 3 book collection and Julie Lees was the second name pulled out, so she wins the Novel Writing book.

Congratulations to you both! If you can email me helenyendall@yahoo.co.uk or DM me on Twitter with your address, I’ll get those sent off to you tomorrow! I hope you enjoy them.

And to everyone else, sorry you didn’t win but I will run another giveaway or competition over the next few weeks. Enjoy your Bank Holiday and I hope it doesn’t rain..!

But if it does, take a leaf out of Bonnie’s book: race around until you’re too tired to play with your toy sausages, collapse in front of the Aga and RELAX.

Bonnie Exhausted

This entry was posted in Bonnie, Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Poems That Make You Cry + ‘Giveaway’ Results

  1. julielees says:

    Whoopee doo! Thank you, Helen. Have a great Bank Holiday and keep up the fantastic work on your blog. I, for one, look forward to your posts.

  2. Oh, wow. Thank you, Helen for such a great giveaway!

  3. julielees says:

    Hi Helen! The book arrived this morning. Had a quick glimpse and it promises to be interesting. Thank you, and I’ll be sure to give you a mention in the foreword of my bestseller. Ha!

  4. The books arrived today! Just had a quick flick through and I think I’ll be learning a lot from them. Thank you very, very much.

  5. philippabowe says:

    Hi Helen, I read about the men’s crying poems somewhere else and it does sound like it has some great pieces. I think I saw that a Nick Cave poem is included; I’ve never read his writing but am a huge fan of his music and he’s on my list.

Leave a Reply

