In Which I Make A ‘Spectacle’ of Myself…

poppy fieldArgh, it’s raining! My washing is on the line, getting soaked; we can’t take the dog for a walk (well, we could but it would be a miserable experience and Princess Bonnie does NOT like getting wet) and I’m feeling all unsettled!

I wished desperately for some rain a few days ago so I didn’t have to water the pots and the hanging baskets. Someone ‘upstairs’ has clearly listened to me and thought “She wants rain? I’ll give her rain!” and so, here it is. Sorry. All My Fault.

Yesterday I went to Stratford for a routine eye test and came out, an hour later, £170 poorer. Turns out, I needed an upgrade on the old reading glasses and, for the first time, glasses for driving. (And no, I didn’t mention the deer incident back in June. I did SEE it, please remember – I just didn’t react in an appropriate manner!)

Anyway, on Friday I am picking up FOUR pairs of glasses (because SpecSavers do that ‘buy one get one free’ thing), so I will be juggling specs for the rest of the summer. Fun.

Despite the title of this post, I didn’t really make a spectacle of myself. Unless you count the part when the young, male optician was gazing into all parts of my eyes with his torch and when he told me to look down I closed my eyes! And he had to say, ‘Er..and open your eyes please and look down (Stupid)…’

Then I went to see a man about my car-that-used-to-be-red. NEVER buy a red car, is my advice. My car-that-used-to-be-pillar-box-red is now fading to a lovely Barbie pink. And as much as I like pink, I don’t really want to drive around in something that looks like an over-sized lipstick. So, a man in a garage in Stratford is going to put it right for me, soon and at a cost of about £170. I have come to the conclusion that everything costs £170 these days.

Except THIS! (smooth link, yet again). This only costs £10 to enter, if you are in a position to pay it, so read on, if you fancy winning a lovely Arvon writing course, worth over £600.

SASH Short Story Competition: 10th October 2014.

“The aim is to raise awareness of youth homelessness within the UK and Yorkshire and to raise funds for SASH. The theme of the competition is ‘homeless’ and can be written in any genre with a maximum of 3000 words. Those in a position to do so are encouraged to make a donation of £10 to accompany their entry. We encourage entries from those who are experiencing or who have previously experienced homelessness themselves.”

You have to be resident in the UK and over 16, you can write in any genre and the closing date is 5pm, Friday 10 October 2014. Good luck!

Lights Out

Did you all turn off your lights last night, between 10pm and 11pm? We did although I wasn’t prepared and so didn’t have a lovely poppy candle all ready to be lit. I wish I’d known about this ‘national vigil’ a few months ago. It would have made a perfect setting for a WW1-themed short story… ! I’m sure someone, somewhere knew about it and wrote about it (Wendy! Was it you?!) but sadly, it wasn’t me. 😦

This entry was posted in Bonnie, Competitions, Good Causes, Short Stories and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to In Which I Make A ‘Spectacle’ of Myself…

  1. juliathorley says:

    It’s raining here, too, and making me glum. However, I have two yoga classes to teach later today, so I need to find some positivity from somewhere. At the moment I’m reading Writing Magazine looking for inspiration and have just noticed I have a tiny offering on the Letters page. Onwards!

  2. Ah yes, I saw that. Julia! Well done you!

  3. philippabowe says:

    Your weather wishes are obviously very powerful Helen, the rain made it all the way down here – bucket loads!

  4. Wendy Clarke says:

    Funny you should say that, Helen….

  5. Linda says:

    Hope you soon get used to your new glasses. I’ve only got 2 pairs to choose from – one for ordinary reading, and one for when I’m working on the computer – but I still usually manage to pick up the wrong pair.

Leave a Reply

