My Book Club Can Beat Up Your Book Club

My book club can beat up your book club. Saw it. Loved it. Bought it.

My book club can beat up your book club. Saw it. Loved it. Bought it.

Actually, that’s not true.

My book club would roll over and admit defeat before any other book club had even fired the first shot. Or turned the first page. Because, actually, truth be told, it’s more of a wine club. With books.

Quite a few people turn up having not even read the book. None of it. “I couldn’t find it on Amazon. What was the title again?”

Or (and I am guilty of this!) they arrive, clutching that month’s book, with a book mark clearly visible and lodged about half way through. They haven’t finished it. Which is fine – we’ve all got busy lives. But then they decree that we ‘mustn’t give away the ending!’ which makes discussing the book rather tricky.

We usually talk about the book for about ten minutes and then discussion turns to: when is the village pub going to re-open and who else has had their green bin nicked?

But about fifteen minutes before the end of the 2 hour get-together, the host/hostess assembles the 5 or 6 books that they’ve chosen for next month. This, I have to admit, is my favourite part.

The books are passed around, some people shout “I’ve read this already!” or even “We read this one last year!” And then we have a vote on next month’s book. This month’s choice was Anita Shreve’s ‘The Lives of Stella Bain’. Eek, must admit I’m not that keen on old Anita. BUT, perhaps I will be pleasantly surprised by this one..

Sounds like fun? It is! And everyone’s lovely and it’s been a great way of meeting some of our neighbours. But book club? Nah. Sorry, but it’s not…

I've even got a bag that 'speaks' about it...

I’ve even got a bag that ‘speaks’ about it…

This entry was posted in Books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to My Book Club Can Beat Up Your Book Club

  1. Wendy Clarke says:

    I think I am the only person in the world who doesn’t belong to a book club! I always feel it would take away the enjoyment of reading and I have so many books waiting to be read that I wouldn’t necessarily want to read someone else’s choice. Being the only person in the word to be in one, I don’t expect anyone else to share my view!

    • I know what you mean, Wendy! It’s a bit too much like having homework for me. I’m glad there are such groups, though. I’m sure it gets more people reading.
      Love the bag, by the way, Helen! 🙂

      • yes, it’s good, isn’t it? My OH bought me that. I keep forgetting to take it along to the Book Club! Must take it – and the mug – next time and wave it in front of everyone!

    • Lesley Sifers says:

      I guess that makes two of us. A friend has tried to recruit me into hers but most of the selections are romance novels and I don’t care for them. Now, if they served wine at their meetings, I might reconsider.

    • Wendy, I know what you mean. I also always have a stack of books waiting to be read, so I get a little grumpy when the Book Club choice is something …er.. not that good! If I’m encouraged to read something I wouldn’t ordinarily have tried and it turns out to be good, then that’s fine – and that’s one of the joys of a Book Club – but more often than not, I must admit, I feel like I could be reading something GOOD! (but there’s always the option not to read the book. I’ve done that quite a few times!)

  2. Our online crime book club is great because we have members attending in different countries and we live chat on Google+ Hangouts. We can’t all discuss the local village pub though! And wine is optional 🙂

  3. carolwarham says:

    In the book group in our village we do believe that life is too short to read a book you
    are not enjoying and there are so many books we all want to read. You don’t mention food. As well as the wine we have some wonderful bakers who often bring along their offerings. Happy reading.

    • Oh, that sounds good, Carol, I like the sound of ‘baking’! Ours meets in the evenings, so there are usually nibbles and things like cheese and sausage rolls but we don’t usually get any cakes or biscuits, sadly.

  4. Definitely my kind of book club! I confess that I ‘read’ so many books via Audible (audio books) that I forget if I have actually read the book or just had it read to me. Is this cheating?!

    • No, I don’t think it is! I keep meaning to get some audio books, so thanks for the reminder. I spend so much time driving around (2.5 hours today, for example), that it would be good to listen to some books, as a change from the radio!

  5. juliathorley says:

    I don’t belong to a book club, but if I did I’d be REALLY annoyed if people didn’t take it seriously. Not that I’m a control freak or anything.

  6. Linda says:

    I like the sound of your book club Helen, where the members don’t actually have to read anything! But, no, I don’t belong to one. I agree with Wendy Clarke, when it comes to reading I prefer to do my own thing. I’ve also got enough deadlines to cope with. Back to NaNoWriMo …!

    • To be honest, we joined the book club as more of a ‘social thing’ when we first moved to this new area! and it’s been great for getting to know a few people, at least to say hello to in the street! (it takes a long time before us Brits actually become ‘friends’ doesn’t it?! At my last house, I lived next door to a lady for 12 years and although we were friendly enough when we saw each other and often stopped for a chat, in all that time, she never came into my house and I never went into hers!)

  7. Nicola says:

    I think I would ashamedly be one of those who hadn’t read the chosen book. I am terrible at reading other people’s choices. I know what I like to read and tend to stick to that. When I do feel the urge to break from my normal face paced action novels, I tend to start something for a few chapters and then dive back into my preferred genre. I have been trying to read ‘Gone Girl’ for months now. It was recommended by a friend. And yes, it is well written and I admire the way in which the author has written it (it’s different) but after six chapters I was back in bed with David Baldacci and Scott Mariani and Peter James. Luckily my husband is not the jealous type 🙂

  8. Patsy says:

    I’ve never been in a book club, but you’re making me think I might enjoy it.

  9. philippabowe says:

    I’m not in a book club either (force of circumstance, as a French resident), but I LOVE the idea of wine and books, a perfect combination! I think I’d like a club where everyone read what they wanted, but then committed to presenting it to the others for discussion – but then you’d have the problem of spoiling endings for people planning the read the same book…back to the drawing board!

Leave a Reply

