Some Writing Competitions…

movie-nightI went to see ‘Gone Girl’ at the cinema today. Anyone else seen it or read the book, by Gillian Flynn?

Both the novel and the film are great for the first half (or so) and then, in my humble opinion, they get very, very, silly. But still, it wasn’t a bad way to spend a rainy Saturday afternoon (and Ben Affleck is rather easy on the eye..).

ITV ‘This Morning’/Curtis Brown Novel-Writing Competition

Now, then if you too, yearn to produce a best-seller like Gillian (with a hard ‘g’ apparently) Flynn – and you’ve already got something at least half-written – then you might be interested in this novel-writing competition, which literary agents Curtis Brown and ITV’s ‘This Morning’ launched a few days ago.

You haven’t got much time (closing date is midday on 14th November). You have to submit the first 3000 words of the novel and a one page synopsis (ah, the dreaded synopsis!) and they’re looking for a winner who’s going to be prepared to work on their novel during a 6-month course with Curtis Brown (either on-line or in London), so you don’t have to have finished the novel, just have a pretty good idea of where it’s going.

The winner and runners-up will be announced live on This Morning on 27th November, so you won’t have to wait long to find out the results! Good luck if you decide to go for it.

CrimeFest has been called ‘one of the biggest crime fiction events in Europe’ and you can win weekend passes to the 2016 (yep, that’s not a typo) event in this flash fiction competition, which is only £2 to enter.

Here are the rules and the prizes are:

1st prize: 2 weekend passes to CrimeFest 2016 (access to all interviews, panels and receptions, exc. accommodation, dinner, travel)
2nd prize: 1 weekend pass to CrimeFest 2016
3rd prize: A special CrimeFest delegate bag with books and other goodies

In addition to the above, all those on the shortlist will be invited to attend the Crime Writing Day in Bristol, on Friday 15 May 2015, when the winners will be announced.

The results for the 2014 competition are here, if you want to get an idea of what they’re looking for.

And finally, a little reminder about my flash fiction/poetry competition – details here. I’ve had 18 entries so far, so I’m expecting a sudden flurry as the closing date (midnight on 11th November) approaches.

Don’t leave it too late! (says she, who usually presses ‘send’ with minutes to go..).

This entry was posted in Competitions, Men, Novels and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Some Writing Competitions…

  1. Keith Havers says:

    I read ‘Gone Girl’ last year and seem to remember I gave it 7/10. Wouldn’t mind seeing the film though. Does it stick close to the book?

  2. Yes, Keith, it’s pretty faithful to the book. I read that they’d ‘changed’ the ending but it didn’t seem that different to me! (but maybe I just forgot what the book ending was!)

  3. Someone suggested the Curtis Brown comp to me and I’m going to enter my WIP but I admit only because I don’t expect to get shortlisted: the final five (I think) have to go on TV and read some of their book out. I think I (and possibly many introvert writers) would rather stick pins in my eyes than go on TV!

  4. good point Amanda! But you could employ some poetic licence and some imagination and come up with a way to circumvent this TV treachery – my personal solution would be to hire an acting student – hey you hear of ghost writers all the time this is just a little hop from that point. Best of luck in the comp.

  5. I read Gone Girl last year, and couldn’t put it down, and then read her other books as well. Each gripped me, but at the same time there was something in all of them that made me question the believability of each story or character which took me away from the story. In Gone Girl, I really felt cheated at the end – I so wanted Amy to be exposed for who she was!

  6. Have entered the ‘This Morning’ competition. No idea how in just one week (14th to 21st Nov) they going to produce the shortlist of 5 – there’ll be loads of entries!

  7. rosgemmell says:

    Have read Gone Girl which I didn’t particularly like as I got so annoyed with the characters and didn’t care what happened to them in the end! Haven’t seen the film yet and I do think the story has quiet a good twist. Not sure I liked all the implications with copyright etc of submitting to This Morning’s comp – or maybe I haven’t read it all correctly!

  8. Patsy says:

    I’ve not read or seen Gone Girl, but I am having a go at the novel competition. If nothing else it’ll force me to tackle the dreaded synopsis.

  9. Pingback: I Want to Be a Bestseller, Oh Yes (Oh No) | writermummy

  10. Wendy Clarke says:

    I’m with Rosemary. Wasn’t that impressed with novel – didn’t find it very believable and guessed what was going on very early on. Would quite like to see film to see if I prefer it.

Leave a Reply

