It’s A Wrap!

from this...

from this…

Is it just me, or is it incredibly hard to get any writing, of any kind, done at this time of year?! I’ve been trying to write this blog post for about a week.
..to this!

..to this!


It’s not just lack of time: my brain seems to be devoid (ooh, good word) of any ideas or inspiration. It’s just full of PRESENTS.

Not only do I have to buy my own, for various friends and family (which I don’t actually mind), I also end up as ‘present advisor’ (and fetcher, in some cases), to lots of other people.

Today, for example, after I’d been to see ‘Aladdin’ (more about that in a minute), I fought my way through the crowds in Coventry to get to M&S, to buy some presents for my parents to give to each other.. and, er.. to me.

Has the world gone ‘gift crazy’? Yes, I think it has.

This morning I had to wrap up 20 selection boxes and other goodies, which we gave away to the children from The Friendship Project – the charity I work for – after the pantomime today. (Oh yes we did!).

I hadn’t been to a pantomime for years and I’d forgotten how loud and chaotic they are (and not just on the stage! There were screaming babies, noisy children and chattering adults in the audience. It was crazy!)

But just in case any of you are feeling more chilled and organised than me and therefore have time to actually write (lucky you – how do you do it?!), here are a couple of competitions that you might like to enter:

Write Stars Christmas Story competition: 500 max words, £100 first prize, closing date 20th December. Beware – it’s for ‘unpublished’ writers only, so read the rules before you submit!

Emerald Street – Ghost/Supernatural story.
The closing date for this one is 5th January. It’s free to enter but you must be a UK resident (usual apologies to Ninette and Philippa…)

Santa flew in today to hand out the presents to the children at our panto party. I didn’t get chance to sit on his knee and tell him what I wanted for Christmas but if I had, I’d have asked for: ‘some peace and quiet and a big dollop of inspiration, please.’
How about you?

This entry was posted in Competitions and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to It’s A Wrap!

  1. Wendy Clarke says:

    Writing at this time if year is practically impossible – especially as I have 3 nativities to go to and a father Xmas visit! I have given myself permission to finish my last story and then stop until the festivities are all over.

  2. Helen Lowry says:

    I’m with you here, Helen. My list of New Year resolutions for writing is getting longer, which is worrying in itself! Merry Christmas!

  3. Nicola says:

    My mind seems to be brimming with Christmas stories for next year. I think that’s due to being surrounded by Christmas markets and the over indulgence of Glühwein. Even my crime busters have gone all gooey, which means I have had to pull away from my novel just until the evil streak in me returns 🙂 Wishing you a lovely Christmas and a happy new year.

    • Good time to get those Christmas stories down then, Nicola, if you’re feeling inspired! (and yes, I find a glass of Gluhwein – sorry for lack of umlaut – definitely helps!). Christmas in Germany is fabulous – have a piece of Stollen for me (I know we have it here now but it’s not the same!).

  4. Linda says:

    I can’t blame Christmas as it’s going to be a low key, relaxed event for us this year, but I’m certainly not getting much new writing done at the moment. I think it’s mostly to do with the weather and lack of daylight. I just want to hibernate!
    But I think I might manage to dust off an unpublished ghost story left over from last Christmas for the Emerald Street competition – thanks for telling us about it. Here’s hoping it will be ‘all systems go’ in January!

  5. I too seem to end up buying my own presents for other people to wrap up & give back to me. What happened to surprises! (But at least I get what I want!)

  6. I’m a bloke, so won’t talk presents (!), but I do think it’s good that writing is barely possible at this time of year – it’s a great period to just get your fingers away from the PC or Mac, and allow your mind to wander to what you might want to be doing writing-wise in 2015. Sometimes, you can be so busy churning out words, you’ve no time to think about goals, ambitions, fresh ideas – not to mention reflect on the year that’s been. Yeah, it’s a wrap … but that’s a good thing.

  7. rosgemmell says:

    I’m fairly organised now but only because I haven’t been doing much writing! The panto sounds great fun and I’m sure the children will have adored every minute, especially if followed by a selection box. Hope you get that peace and quiet soon.

Leave a Reply

