‘Paperchase And Other Stories’ – Book Launch!

Paperchase And Other Stories  - launched tonight!

Paperchase And Other Stories – launched tonight!

Welcome to the party! Yes, I know I’ve kept it quiet but I’ve been beavering away over Christmas on my first e-book collection of short stories and it’s finally ready to hit the Kindles!

Now, do come in and help yourself to a glass of fizz. Sorry about Bonnie – down, girl!

There’s Tattinger champagne (no expense spared) or, if you’re driving, there’s Bottle Green, which is almost as good.

Oh, I forgot to mention: the party’s fancy dress! Anything to do with ‘paper’ will do – so, can you guess what I am? Yes, a paperclip! I know, clever use of silver wire, don’t you think?

But yes, it is a bit chilly. I might have to get my cardi in a minute.

The doorbell’s ringing again and Bonnie’s jumping up on everyone as they come in out of the cold. Tut tut, what would our dog trainer say?

Right, everyone load your glasses. It’s time for my ‘speech’!

‘Ting, ting!’ (that’s me knocking a pencil against a champagne flute, to get everyone’s attention).

“Thank you all very much for battling through the wind and rain to get here tonight. I know I’m not the first to publish an e-book of short stories but it’s the first one for me and I’m excited! All the stories in this collection have been published in the past, or they’ve been placed in competitions. They’re all favourites of mine and I wanted them to have a chance to ‘live’ again and for other people to read and hopefully enjoy them.

One or two might leave you with a tear in your eye but ultimately they’re uplifting and feel-good stories. They won’t give you nightmares and might even send you off to sleep with a smile on your face.

So now, some thanks. I couldn’t have done it without the encouragement of my writing buddy, Sally, who read some of these stories and gave me her invaluable feedback and is the author of Kindle Direct Publishing For Beginners, without which I wouldn’t have known where to start!

I also want to thank Wendy Clarke, who found the talented illustrator, Sarah Hughes and was very sweet when I asked her if she minded me using her for my own e-book cover!

Oh, they’re playing music now (or am I getting mixed up with the Oscars..?) so I have to stop there!

Thank you all for coming and if you should be so inclined as to download my book – a mere snip at Β£1.99 – and enjoy it, then please would you leave a review on Amazon? Love your fancy dress outfit by the way. Did you make it yourself…?”

This entry was posted in Bonnie, Books, E publishing, Short Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to ‘Paperchase And Other Stories’ – Book Launch!

  1. Wendy Clarke says:

    Phew, made it – I wanted to be first to wish you well with your new collection. As you can see, I have come as a paper aeroplane and just need to unfold myself. Love the book cover – Sarah’s very clever? Isn’t she πŸ™‚

  2. Oh, Wendy, welcome! You blew right through the door then, didn’t you? Very clever and saves the cost of a taxi! I haven’t chosen the best night, weather-wise and was wondering if anyone would come, so thank you for venturing out! Yes, Sarah is a genius!

  3. Congratulations, Helen! I’ve come as a soaking wet paper towel – I’ve absorbed all the wet that’s outside at the moment. Now, a glass of that Champagne you were talking about wouldn’t go amiss …

  4. There you go, Sally! An extra large one for you and how apt that you and Wendy were the first to arrive! Cheers! Just be careful that Bonnie doesn’t grab hold of your costume, as she does like paper, wet or not and I’d hate you to be left in an embarrassing situation…

  5. julielees says:

    Congratulations, Helen! I’ve come as a paper cut. Hope I don’t bleed all over your carpet though. Have downloaded my copy, and looking forward to revisiting many of your delightful stories as well as discovering some new ones. Good luck with the sales.

  6. Welcome, Julie! Don’t worry about the carpet – it’s old and needs replacing anyway. But if you need a BandAid, just ask! (ouch!) I hope you enjoy the stories and thanks for downloading it. Now, let’s get you a drink…!

  7. mariemadigan says:

    Congratulations Helen! Hope the party is going with a swing. I’ve just bought the book; I’ve been quietly enjoying this blog for a couple of years now and am delighted to be able to buy a collection of your stories. Hope you’re patting yourself on the back πŸ˜ƒ

    • Marie, what a lovely thing to say – thank you! I am not (yet!) patting myself on the back. It feels strangely ‘exposing’ to be publishing a book, I must admit – not what I expected at all – but of course, it’s exciting too!! Hope you enjoy it.

  8. Downith says:

    Sorry I’m late, but I’ve just nipped into Amazon to buy a copy of your book. I look forward to reading it.

    I’ve come as a paper cup -Shame I’m having a dry January, but pass the Bottle Green and cheers to you. Well done!

  9. Thanks, Downith. And it’s handy that you’ve come as a paper cup – saves on washing up! Cheers!

  10. Ninette says:

    I’ve flown in from Italia to say CONGRATULATIONS! I bought the book on the way here and I’ve come dressed as a paper plate. I was loaded with sausage rolls but someone seems to have eaten them on the plane…pass the champagne please I’ve just got time for one before I pop off back to Italy and bed where I’m going to snuggle down and start reading…can’t wait! πŸ™‚

  11. Ninette, thank you and I love the paper plate look. I think you could have started a trend (catwalks of Paris – or rather, Milan – will be next!). Night night and thanks for dropping in!

  12. Debbie W says:

    Congratulations, Helen. I will always remember your story ‘Heroes, Just For One Day’ which won the Erewash Writers competition because I laughed out loud when reading it. I really like the book cover – Sarah Hughes has done a brilliant job there. I’ve come as a paper straw because I’m sure I can slurp more wine in less time by that method. I look forward to reading your book.

  13. Aw, thank you Debbie – I’m always amazed (and flattered!) when people say they remember a particular story I’ve written. That one was fun to write, I must admit! I’m glad you like the cover. I’m pleased with it too! Hope you enjoy the stories. Good thinking to come as a straw but be careful – that champers will go straight to your head, drinking it like that!

  14. Nicola says:

    All dressed up and nowhere to go. It took me so long to make my origami kimono, I missed the party 😦 I’ll keep it for the next one. Please make the theme for collection two – Japanese πŸ™‚ Many congratulations Helen. I am thrilled for you and wish you every success with Paperchase. Love the cover!

    • Oh, what a sham, Nicola. I would have loved to have seen that origami kimono but yes, I can quite understand that it turned out as a swan and then an orchid before you got the design quite right. I will give some thought to the Japanese theme for next time (got a Chinese story in this collection but I know that’s not quite the same…!) Thanks for stopping by!

  15. Julia says:

    Congratulations on the book. Sorry I didn’t make it through the door, but my elaborate costume was turned into papier mache by the rain.

  16. Thanks Julia! I think a few people had that problem with their costumes (there are big lumps of sodden paper all down the drive), but never mind!

  17. Tracy Fells says:

    Blimey, hope I’m not too late. Bet that Wendy Clarke has polished off the bubbly – you have to watch her. Congratulations on your launch, Helen. Clink Clink to many sales and more collections to follow πŸ™‚

  18. lonestarsky says:

    Congratulations!! πŸ™‚ I’ve enjoyed loads of your previous stories, so I’m off to download your book x

  19. KH says:

    Hi, came as a paperweight so as not to be blown away by your immense talent. Really excited for you, the covers great and I’m sure the stories are too. I’ll be buying soon. Well done! Good wishes Kate Hogan

  20. philippabowe says:

    Sorry for being so late, and I can’t stop for long as I’m a paper moon and am busy sailing over a cardboard sea…I’ve just got time to down any remaining champagne, but not without raising the glass to you Helen, to say a huge CONGRATULATIONS on your achievement, very exciting and impressive, and I look forward to reading your lovely stories as soon as I find a Kindle to download them on. P.xx

    • Philippa, thank you and yes, sorry the champers is a bit flat now but it’s still cold, so help yourself! Remember you can download a Kindle app to your PC or tablet for free and read books on there (just go to a book you want to buy on Amazon and there’s a button!). It’s not quite as good, reading on a PC, in my humble opinion, but it’s better than nothing, perhaps?!) x

  21. networksue says:

    Enjoyed the party and bought the book! Congratulations πŸ™‚ xx

  22. Thank you, Sue! Sorry there wasn’t any food at the party. I forgot about food..!

  23. Sue Bavin says:

    Lovely party – beautifully organised! Hope you like my fancy dress – a party hat seemed the most appropriate way to dress. Best of luck with your book.

Leave a Reply

