I Need A Hero… ! (+ here comes a giveaway!)

PoldarkI admit it. I am a laggard.

I’m talking about those classifications to help explain how new ideas and technology spread through cultures. You know the ones: there are the ‘innovators’ (those annoying people who have to have the latest gadget before it’s come off the production line) and then there are the slightly more circumspect but still very up-to-the-minute, ‘early adopters’.. and so it goes on, until you get to the last group of people. Those who are the very last to catch on to anything. Well, they’re the laggards.

You see, the BBC Sunday night Poldark TV series is nearly at an end and I’ve just realised how good it is.

I’m one of those saddos who can remember the first Poldark series, back.. ahem, in the ’70s (I watched it from my cot) and there was a little part of me that thought ‘Nah, it can’t be as good as that’ but I’m writing something that needs a HERO and I wasn’t feeling very inspired and everyone seems to be swooning over Aidan Turner, who plays Ross Poldark, so purely for research purposes you understand, I watched Part I yesterday and Part II tonight and yes… I am hooked.

If you are intrigued – or if, like most of the (female) population, you’ve been watching it since episode one – then you might be interested in Kim Fleet’s fascinating post on what Poldark can teach us writers!

And there’s a great interview with Poldark screenwriter Debbie Horsfield, on the BBC Writers Room website here.

One of my favourite authors, Marian Keyes, has even come up with a Poldark bingo card, which you can use for the last two episodes!

Book Giveaway

And finally, to celebrate my coming into the fold-that-is-Poldark, I’m giving away a brand new copy of the first book in the 12-book series: the appropriately-named ‘Ross Poldark‘ by Winston Graham.

Just leave a Poldark or hero-related comment under this post by 9pm on Sunday 19th April 2015 and you’ll be entered into the random draw. Are you watching it? Do you hate it?! (gasp!) or why do you think Ross Poldark is such a good hero?! (Or who’s written a better one?)

This entry was posted in Books, Men, Research, Television and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I Need A Hero… ! (+ here comes a giveaway!)

  1. carol Warham says:

    A really interesting post. I loved the first series and waited with baited breath for this one. I didn’t think it would be able to compete. However I am enjoying it very much, all the characters remain much as I remember/imagine them. It’s a little cheesy in places and there is a tremendous amount of galloping across the bay. However the scenery is stunning. Does the sun always shine there? 🙂

  2. Kim Fleet says:

    Thank you so much for mentioning my blog, Helen! That’s really kind of you.
    When I was a teenager, I thought people like Mr Rochester in Jane Eyre and Heathcliff in Wuthering Heights were heroes, but when I was older, I realised how unheroic and at times cruel they really were. It’s that idea of Byronic man – tall, dark, handsome, dangerous and a bit mad. But would you want to live with him? (See what sensible middle age does to fantasy!)

  3. claire chappell says:

    Aiden is definitely a natural turner of heads as Ross Poldark. He was intense as a vampire in Being Human. I sobbed during his final scene when he sacrificed himself for the greater good. He portrays Ross with human flaws that you can forgive as he lives for his family and community. Just what you want in a hero. Great to see a nod to the original Poldark with Robin Ellis though playing an unlikeable magistrate. I think I may have watched the original or glimpsed it on the tv whilst mum watched. The Cornish landscape is captivating as much as Poldark the man too. 🙂

  4. Catherine Robinson says:

    Love this series – Poldark is a *proper* hero, championing the rights of the underdog and the workers over his own personal gain. A very moral, principled man, but with flaws (“This is the first time I’ve been sober for 5 days”) to make him interesting My only teeny, tiny complaint is the scar on his face doesn’t quite convince me as it looks like eyeliner….!! 🙂

  5. Sherri Turner says:

    I wasn’t going to watch, as I was sure it couldn’t match up to the original – especially as I was in that as an extra (babe in arms, you understand!)
    However, I succumbed, and I love it – though I am continually thinking ‘who played that part in the original’ then having to Google!

    • I think the two Elisabeths are quite similar in looks but Robin Ellis was nowhere near as gorgeous as Aidan Turner… (sorry, Robin- and I didn’t spot him as the magistrate, as Claire has pointed out!)

  6. Sara Kellow says:

    I was keen to watch due to a weakness for men in tricorne hats but I missed the 2nd episode and turned the 3rd off half way through out of boredom. I’m beginning to think I should have given it more of a chance.

  7. Wendy Clarke says:

    A good hero is one who gratuitously takes off his shirt to reap corn. I’m surprised you didn’t know that, Helen 🙂

    • Of course! Well, I certainly know now! (My friend’s husband has got a man-crush on the actor who plays Poldark. Bless! Apparently he keeps ‘freeze-framing’ the topless scenes, ostensibly for my friend but she has a sneaky suspicion he wants to look too!)

Leave a Reply

