Giveaway: Della Galton’s ‘How To Write & Sell Short Stories’

I've got two, so one's up for grabs!

I’ve got two, so one’s up for grabs!

After putting you through all that ‘A to Z’-ing (phew, I was glad when I got to Z), I thought it was about time for something different.

So, I’ve got a giveaway, courtesy of Kishboo the e-fiction magazine for fiction lovers! (not ‘fictional lovers’! That’s a different thing altogether).

Kishboo ran a competition a little while ago and I was the winner of a novel and Della Galton’s excellent ‘How To Write And Sell Short Stories‘. Turns out, I’d already got that book on my shelves (albeit a slightly older version!), so rather than let it go to waste I asked Sharon at Kishboo if she’d mind me giving the book away and luckily for us all, she said yes (it’s the one on the left).

You can buy Kishboo as an e-magazine for your Kindle for just 99p or you can read all the issues (4 so far) on the website free.

The next deadline for Kishboo’s short story competition (£3 entry fee, prizes of £50, £25 and £15, plus all 15 shortlisted stories appear in the next issue), is 20th October 2015, so there’s plenty of time if you want to have a go.

If you want to win a copy of Della‘s book – an invaluable tool if you’re trying to ‘crack’ the women’s short story market, or enter competitions (ahem, like Kishboo’s) or even if you just want to remind yourself of the essentials of short story writing – then this is what I want you to do:

In the comments section, tell me (briefly – it only needs to be a line or two!) about a short story that you’ve read recently, that you’ve enjoyed. I’ll start us off with this one:

In the latest (September’s) Take A Break Fiction Feast, I really enjoyed Gail Richards’ story ‘How I Met Rory’. I’ve already emailed Gail to tell her this (she was the winner of the subscription that I gave away to TABFF a little while ago).

I liked it because it was a bit ‘different’ – I really didn’t have a clue how it was going to pan out, which kept me reading. I’m a sucker for a bit of romance – and an animal – and they were both in there and Gail really managed to pack a lot into just one page. Oh and I learned something too – that ‘zenzero’ is Italian for ginger!

So, that’s it. The only other rules are: 1 entry per person, deadline is 20th August, when I’ll choose a winner at random AND you can write about any story apart from one of your own…! Good luck!

This entry was posted in Competitions, Magazines, Short Stories and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Giveaway: Della Galton’s ‘How To Write & Sell Short Stories’

  1. gailaldwin says:

    The story which won the Bridport Story Slam 2014 by Wendy Breckon is now online
    http://www.dorsetwritersnetwork.co.uk/?page_id=165
    Fabulous story which shares the close relationship between a 7 year girl and her Irish grandmother.

  2. I enjoyed Frivolous Things by Jo Styles in the August Woman’s Weekly Fiction a Special – intriguing with a humorous twist.

  3. Denise says:

    I hadn’t heard of Kishboo so thank you for the link!

  4. Patsy says:

    I’m not entering the comp as I already have Della’s book.

    Tough to pick just one story bu Teresa Ashby’s Walk Away in the July WWFS was great. (I’m a bit behind with my magazine reading!)

  5. I recently read Piñata by Jessica Rudd. Written from a male perspective (and very well – I just went to check the author and hadn’t even thought that it would be a female writer!), it was funny and touching without being over the top – I love subtlety in writing.

  6. Keith Havers says:

    Back In The Saddle by Josephine Allen was in The People’s Friend in July. It’s about a couple that get back into cycling and become quite competitive with each other. Being a commuting cyclist and having raced a bit, it really appealed to me.

  7. Cam says:

    I really liked Cynthia Chapman’s slightly longer detective story in the last Woman’s Weekly special, “diary of a detective’s wife”. I’m not usually a fan of crime stories, so it did well to suck me in!
    Thanks too for the link to Kishboo – really interesting.

Leave a Reply

