Back In The Saddle..

bicycle1Hello, here I am back from a long weekend at Center Parcs (the one that had be rescheduled because of chicken pox!) with a sore bum (I’m not used to riding a bike anymore!), sore knees (ditto) and a stinking cold. Aagh.

I am also completely ‘out’ of my writing zone. If you’ve been to Center Parcs yourself, you’ll know that it’s like entering another dimension. Good for total relaxation, of course, but a bit of a shock to the system when you re-enter the earth’s atmosphere and have to try to knuckle down to some work.

I have some People’s Friend news. Firstly, part 2 of my serial has been accepted and signed off – hurrah! So there’s just the final hurdle of the last part to write now!

Secondly, I’m going to one of PF’s writing workshops, in London, on Wednesday 16th March. This was part of my prize and I’m really looking forward to it. So, if any of you are also planning to be there, let me know!

It’s hard to believe it’s already February! In addition to my own little writing competition, which closes on 12th February, I’ve spotted these FREE writing competitions with deadlines coming up that I’m hoping to enter and which you might like to take a look at:

Closing 10th Feb: For the poets out there, The Spectator is inviting you to write a Valentine triolet. Scroll down the page and you’ll find it.

Closing 15th Feb: The Writers’ & Artists’ Short Story competition. Theme: ageing. Max word count: 2000

Closing: 20th Feb: Reader’s Digest 100 word short story competition. This is a ‘Drabble’ ie: exactly 100 words).

Closing 22nd Feb: Stratford-upon-Avon Literary Festival, short story OR poem, with the title ‘For All Time’. They’ve really bumped up the prize money on this one, much to my friend’s annoyance. She won a couple of years ago when the prize money was nowhere near what they’re offering now… 😦

Good luck if you’re having a go at any of these! Don’t leave it to the last minute to enter (erm, like me!)

This entry was posted in Competitions and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Back In The Saddle..

  1. juliathorley says:

    Holidays: more trouble than they’re worth! (Not really, I’m just envious.) Since I didn’t know what a triolet was, it’s unlikely that I have the wherewithal to enter The Spectator comp, but hey: nothing ventured… Thanks for the info.

    • Julia, actually I do sometimes think they’re more trouble than they’re worth..! But that’s just me, with all my ailments at the moment. No doubt I will feel differently in a day or two! Now, where’s that hot toddy…?!

  2. The Readers Digest one looks very interesting. I really must get down to entering one of these! Thanks for letting us know.

  3. Great links, Helen, and brilliant news on part 2 of the serial. Looking forward to reading. When is it published?

    • thanks, Susan. The serial was going to be published in May but they’ve put it back to June now (nothing to do with my being slow, I hasten to add! It’s just a change in their scheduling). But don’t worry, I will be shouting it from the rooftops when it’s coming out, so you won’t miss it!!

  4. Patsy says:

    I’ve sent in entries for two of those competitions already. *smug face*

  5. philippabowe says:

    Hope all your sore bits are feeling better! And well done for getting part 2 done, must be satisfying. Thanks for the comp tips, I have something I think could do for the writers&artists one, with a little editing…

  6. Sandra says:

    Congratulations on the serial. Hope your cold is better soon. Do you know if you can submit more than one entry for the Readers Digest competition?

  7. rosgemmell says:

    Glad you had a good time on holiday! Thanks for the comps – I only knew about two of them so will have a look at the others.

  8. KateHogan says:

    Thanks for the competition info, Helen. I’ve emailed off an entry to one of them already! Well done on your serial news, too, so exciting, but scary too, I bet. Good wishes Kate Hogan

  9. charliebritten says:

    Thanks for letting us know about the comps. I had logged some of them already.

Leave a Reply

