My People’s Friend Serial Is About To Hit The Shelves

July's Writers Forum magazine

July’s Writers Forum magazine

If you get Writers Forum magazine, you’ll notice that (*puffs up*) I am featured in the July issue, which is already out to subscribers and probably about to appear in the shops.

When I won the People’s Friend serial competition, Douglas McPherson contacted the editor Shirley Blair asking if she’d be interested in a “fly-on-the-wall type of feature on Helen and her winning entry, following the whole process from her original idea to the writing of the concluding episodes and any input you have into the story along the way.”

Obviously I was asked if I’d like to take part and although Douglas’s original idea was that it would run over a couple of issues, it’s actually going to be running over 3 – or even 4 – issues of Writers Forum now (maybe I talked too much?).

My friends think this is hilarious and that Douglas will be padding his articles with all kinds of random facts about me but I can assure you, that we’ve spoken on the phone three times, for about an hour each time and there is LOADS to say about the serial- writing process and I really don’t think he’ll have to include details such as how I take my tea (but if you’re reading this Douglas and kicking yourself that you didn’t ask me, it’s quite strong, not too milky and no sugar, thank you).

Part one is out now to coincide with the first part of the PF serial – now called ‘Where The Air Is Sweet’ – which is out THIS WEEK (tomorrow, in fact)! So, if you’re in or around WH Smiths, you might want to have a flick through the magazines (or even.. dare I suggest it.. buy them?!)

First instalment of my serial in this week's People's Friend

First instalment of my serial in this week’s People’s Friend

This entry was posted in Competitions, Successes, The People's Friend. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to My People’s Friend Serial Is About To Hit The Shelves

  1. Catherine Robinson says:

    Congratulations Helen!

  2. thank you! Must admit it’s rather exciting, after all that work, to finally be reaching ‘publication day’!

  3. Congratulations 🙂 Sure – I’ll keep my eyes open for it! Harula x

  4. Fiona Ritchie Walker (@guttedherring) says:

    Congratulations – added to my shopping list!

  5. How exciting! Looking forward to reading the serial.

  6. juliathorley says:

    Congratulations. I’ll look out for it.

  7. Tracy Fells says:

    Congratulations, Helen, on both counts 🙂

  8. Linda says:

    Hi Helen, Congratulations. That sounds like an excuse for a trip to WH Smiths. So pleased for you that your publication day has arrived, it seems ages ago that your win was announced and I know you must have put so much work into the serial. I’m looking forward to reading it.
    Linda

  9. ados123 says:

    Many congratulations on the serial and the article!
    Alyson

  10. philippabowe says:

    How exciting Helen! Well done – for winning in the first place, then all the work you’ve put in on the serial. I’ll see if I can get someone in the UK to buy a copy. 🙂

    PS. For anyone who writes/is interested in flash fiction, it’s national flash fiction day next week in the UK, lots of events + submission to the day’s journal:
    http://nationalflashfictionday.co.uk/events.html

  11. Wendy Clarke says:

    Brilliant – I can still remember how excited I was when my first serial was published. Seeing the illustrations is the best bit 😀

  12. Patsy says:

    I have WF on my desk – it’s still in the wrapper, but I’ll be reading with interest very soon.

  13. Kate Hogan says:

    Well done, Helen! Delighted for you. Good wishes Kate Hogan

Leave a Reply

