Feeling Autumnal (and under par…)

1273488150I am feeling decidedly autumnal.

In other words, I’ve got a horrible cough which has been lingering for about 10 days.

I apologise to all the people (in ‘real life’) that I’ve been spluttering over. I have tried to keep my germs to myself but every time I think the cough has GONE, it reappears with a vengeance. Bah! My OH also has it, so we are a right pair. I have tried to trace the source of our ailment and I think it might, just might be the ‘dog swim’ that we did a couple of weeks ago.

Yes, I know, it’s mad. Blame the people of Chipping Norton as that’s where it was held and they obviously think it’s quite normal to jump into a lido with your dog (and about fifty others…) and swim around in all the dirt and fur! Whoops.

dog-swim
We’d never seen Bonnie swim and my friend had told me (and I quote), “The first time you see your dog swim, you feel really proud.” So we just had to do it! (And it was a sell-out AND the BBC were there, filming… also in the pool. I wonder if they also got a cough? Perhaps it’s Kennel Cough?)

Anyway, after something of a false start in the main pool, we decamped to the baby pool and she did swim (albeit slightly reluctantly) and we were proud.. for about five minutes. Then we grabbed our clothes, (Him Indoors didn’t even bother to change, he just slung a towel around his waist, a la David Beckham) and we made our escape as fast as we could – and showered when we got home!

But another reason for feeling ‘autumnal’ is the fact that winter’s beckoning and it’s much easier to get down to some writing, I think, when it’s cold and dark and rainy outside. So, I am trying to knuckle down to some work! Tomorrow is Monday and I like Mondays because it’s like a ‘new start’ I am in the middle of an e-book (not short stories this time, it’s non-fiction) and I need to get moving on it. Is it just me, or without a deadline, do you find things just take forever?

If you stagnated a bit over the summer too and want to give yourself a shake and get writing, then you might feel inspired by some of these writing competitions (all free to enter) and ‘calls for submissions’ for October which Cathy Bryant has helpfully published on her website.

Good luck!

This entry was posted in Bonnie, Competitions, E publishing, Finding Time To Write. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Feeling Autumnal (and under par…)

  1. Patsy says:

    Hope the cough clears up soon.

    I do agree that it seems easier to get on with writing in the cooler and darker half of the year.

  2. juliathorley says:

    It’s rum and ginger for you, my girl!

  3. Amanda Barton says:

    No, it’s not just you. I’m so inefficient without deadlines and externally imposed deadlines are so much more effective than self-imposed ones. Thanks very much for the link to Cathy Bryant’s free competitions list.

    • We need deadlines, don’t we? I’ve started a new ‘thing’ today – instead of writing a great big ‘to do’ list, I just wrote down 3 things that I wanted to achieve today. Actually I didn’t manage to do any of them completely but it did keep me focussed and tomorrow they will be part of my new ‘3 things’ list!

  4. Please! Give me deadlines! I am writing an article for a writing course, and I have been working on it for 8 months! I have decided enough is enough. 6 edits so far, and come hell or high water it will be sent out on Friday!
    My short story for a competition may be ready in time. I have a funky spreadsheet I got from someone off the internet (will try to remember to let you know where) which reckons I will have it finished in time. Believe it or not, I find Real Housewives of Cheshire inspiring, especially Dawn Ward as they are all successful women who set their own deadlines. Just need some of their gumption. Wonder if they bottle it and sell it??

    • Funnily enough, I saw one of those ‘Real Housewives…’ programmes yesterday (RH of New York) for the first time. I have 2 friends who RAVE about the Orange County and Cheshire ones and I’m always left out of the conversation! So, I was pleased to finally see one. “The women are all so bitchy!” I said to my OH. “And hard and false.. and…God, it’s FANTASTIC!” I need to find the Cheshire one pronto and find out about Dawn Ward and her amazing deadlines! And yes, get that article sent off! Think how good you’ll feel when it’s gone…!

      • I started watching it to play ‘spot places we know’ as we don’t live far from all the posh big houses. Sadly there is no biography of Dawn yet. But if you watch you will see she is very self-driven. And yes, I thought exactly the same as you. You won’t be disappointed in the Cheshire one. Bitchy, false, full of fake drama. And a new baby 😀

Leave a Reply

